HIST 297: Histories of Disease & Healing (Conz): Citation Resources

BASICS OF CHICAGO STYLE: 

If you are unsure as to how to cite a source, check with your professor or a librarian. You can also consult the resources listed on the previous tab. 

Article - from an online journal

Author Lastname, Firstname. "Article Title." Journal Title volume, no. issue (date): pages [if available]. DOI, stable URL or database name.

Polizzi, Craig, Steven Jay Lynn and Andrew Perry. "Stress and Coping in the Time of COVID-19: Pathways to Resilience and Recovery." Clinical Neuropsychiatry 17, no. 2 (2020: 59-62. doi:10.36131/CN20200204.

Article - from an online newspaper/magazine

Author Lastname, Firstname [if applicable]. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, month day, year. Stable URL or database name.

Keyes, Sarah. "Will COVID-19 Lead to Men and Women Splitting Care Work More Evenly?" Washington Post, May 12, 2020. Gale OneFile. 

Blog post 
Author Lastname, Firstname [or screenname if unknown]. "Post Title." Blog Title (blog), Blog Source [if applicable], month day, year. URL.

Pichardo, Margaret S., Briana Christophers and Gezzer Ortega. "The COVID-19 Response Is Failing Communities of Color." Voices (blog), Scientific American, May 7, 2020. https://blogs.scientificamerican.com/voices/the-covid-19-response-is-failing-communities-of-color/.

E-book 

Author Lastname, Firstname. Book Title. City: Publisher, Date. E-Book Platform.

Skidmore, Max J. Presidents, Pandemics and Politics. New York; Palgrave Macmillan, 2016. SpringerLink. 

Image from a website 

**Make sure you are tracking down and citing an 'original' source, not just Google Images!**

Creator Lastname, Firstname [or screenname] [if known]. "Image Title." [insert citation for the image source according to normal rules for that source type].

Cote, Edd. "UMass Memorial Medical Center on Thursday Began A Special Coronavirus Screening Process for Referred Patients at Its University Campus in Worcester." Worcester Business Journal, March 19, 2020. https://www.wbjournal.com/article/greater-worcester-projected-to-be-among-worst-nationally-for-coronavirus-hospital-bed.

Interview - published (ex., in a newspaper, podcast, etc.) 

Interviewee Lastname, Firstname. "Interview Title." By InterviewerFullName. [insert citation for the interview source according to normal rules for that source type].

Dickson, Eric. "Dr. Eric Dickson, President & CEO of UMass Memorial Health Care Discusses How The System Is Faring In The Fight Against COVID-19." Spectrum News 1, April 27, 2020. https://spectrumnews1.com/ma/worcester/news/2020/04/27/dr-eric-dickson-interview.

DiMokas, Elle. "Coronavirus Positive: 'People were just going about their lives’: Teacher Elle DiMokas Recounts Contracting COVID-19 in Spain, Traveling Back to U.S." By Tom Matthews. MassLive, April 4, 2020. https://www.masslive.com/worcester/2020/04/coronavirus-positive-people-were-just-going-about-their-lives-teacher-elle-dimokas-recounts-contracting-covid-19-in-spain-traveling-back-to-us.html

Interview - unpublished (usually one you've conducted yourself, or have found in an archive) 

Interviewee Lastname, Firstname (descriptive information, if appropriate). Interview by InterviewerFullName, location, month day, year. [Information for accessing a transcript and/or recording, if applicable].

Whelan, Joshua (high-school teacher). Interview by Jennifer Whelan, Plymouth, MA, July 6, 2020. Transcript, Holy Cross COVID Chronicles Collection, College of the Holy Cross Archives, Worcester, MA. 

**If your interviewee prefers not to be identified: Normally, you would leave the interviewee out of any bibliography and just include a footnote saying something like: 

Interview with high school teacher, July 6, 2020. 

Social media post

Author Lastname, Firstname [if known]/ (Screen name). "Text of the post, up to 160 characters." Social media platform and format/medium [if applicable], month day, year, timestamp [optional]. URL.

Sommer (@sfross_12). "Such a beautiful sight, on the last day on campus before going home for the rest of the semester due to COVID-19, a rainbow arcs over the @holy_cross campus." Twitter photo, March 13, 2020, 5:35 p.m. https://twitter.com/Sfross_12/status/1238579501057167378

Search Premier.

CHICAGO CITATION RESOURCES:

For citing legal and government documents (for example, Congressional documents): 

Book with one editor

(Walker p.10). 

Walker, Susan, ed. Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt. Routledge: 2000. 

Journal article from an online database

(Montserrat, p. 220). 

Montserrat, Dominic. "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits.'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, vol. 79, 1993, pp.215-25. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.

Newspaper article from an online database

(Riding)

Riding, Alan. "Under the Probing Gaze of the Egyptian Dead." New York Times, 26 April 1997. ProQuest New York Times Historical, https://holycross.idm.oclc.org/login?auth=cas&url=https://www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/under-probing-gaze-egyptian-dead/docview/109716042/se-2.

Page from a website

(Sabino)

Sabino, Rachel. "Gilding the Dead: Mummy Portraits in Roman Egypt." Art Institute Chicago, 23 Oct. 2019, https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.