Skip to Main Content
     

RELS 190: History of the Early Church (Johnson Hodge)

Spring 2025

Access Options

Being able to follow a citation is crucial for research! If you have a citation, you can use those skills to track down the full-text of the article directly using the Browzine E-Journals Search. 

All of the information that you need to track down an article is located in its citation -- like this one below! Note that the | is not part of the citation -- these symbols mark where each component of the citation begins and ends.  

Jacobs, Andrew. |"A Family Affair: Marriage, Classics and Ethics in the Apocryphal Acts of the Apostles."| 

Author                                                       Title of Article

Journal of Early Christian Studies| 7, |no. 1 |(1999): |105-138.| doi:10.1353/earl.1999.0018
                                            Title of Journal             Volume   Issue    Date                Pages        DOI or stable URL

 Instructions for using Browzine to find articles

Interlibrary Loan:

InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch our video tutorial  for more information and a complete walkthrough. 


Some things to keep in mind: 

  • Depending on where a book is traveling from, it can take up to 1-2 weeks (though usually less) to arrive. Make sure to plan ahead! 
     
  • If you don't have enough time to wait for a book, consider requesting a chapter from the book instead. 
     
  • ILL books often have shorter checkout periods than books you borrow from HC Libraries. When your book arrives, it will come with a sticker indicating the due date.

 Instructions for Using Interlibrary Loan

Chicago Manual of Style (Notes-Bibliography)

Citing the Bible: 

[Guidelines provided by Prof. Caroline Johnson Hodge] 

You do not need to do a footnote for biblical citations; just cite them in parentheses in the text (like the above example). You should make a general note in the bibliography (at the end) regarding which version of the Bible you used.

In text: 
Paul is talking about baptism when he writes “There is no longer Jew or Greek, slave or free, male and female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus” (Gal 3:28). 

Bibliography: 
The HarperCollins Study Bible : New Revised Standard Version. San Francisco: HarperOne, 2006. 

Oremus Bible Browser (NRSV). 1 Peter 2:18-3:7, Edited 29 Apr. 2019; https://bible.oremus.org; accessed October 18, 2020.

Citing Other Ancient Texts: 

[Guidelines provided by Prof. Caroline Johnson Hodge] 

In text: Soranus says that “women benefit from daily exercise” (Gynecology 3.5). 

As of September 2024, Chicago Manual of Style has updated to the 18th edition. 
Consult with your professor to confirm whether you should use the 17th or 18th edition. 

Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which uses footnotes for in-text citation. 

Book with a single author or editor 

First footnote: Amy D. Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America (Temple University Press, 2020), 10. 

Second footnote:  Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft, 10. 

Bibliography: Finstein, Amy D. Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America. Temple University Press, 2020.

Journal article from an online database

First footnote: Chanelle Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada," Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 10, https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.

Second footnote: Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach,'" 10. 

Bibliography: Robinson, Chanelle. "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada." Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 9-24. https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.

Online newspaper/magazine article 

First footnote: Edward T. O'Donnell, "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group," Washington Post, March 17, 2019, ProQuest Central. 

Second footnote: O'Donnell, "Irish Immigrants." 

Bibliography: O'Donnell, Edward T. "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group." Washington Post, March 17, 2019. ProQuest Central. 

Page from a website

First footnote: "Classics," College of the Holy Cross, accessed August 19, 2024, https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics. 

Second footnote: "Classics."

Bibliography: College of the Holy Cross. "Classics." Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics. 

As of September 2024, Chicago Manual of Style has updated to the 18th edition. 
Consult with your professor to confirm whether you should use the 17th or 18th edition. 

Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which uses footnotes for in-text citation. 

Book with a single author or editor 

First footnote: Amy D. Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America (Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2020), 10. 

Second footnote:  Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft, 10. 

Bibliography: Finstein, Amy D. Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 2020.

Journal article from an online database

First footnote: Chanelle Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada," Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 10, https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.

Second footnote: Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach,'" 10. 

Bibliography: Robinson, Chanelle. "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada." Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 9-24. https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.

Online newspaper/magazine article 

First footnote: Edward T. O'Donnell, "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group," Washington Post, March 17, 2019, ProQuest Central. 

Second footnote: O'Donnell, "Irish Immigrants." 

Bibliography: O'Donnell, Edward T. "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group." Washington Post, March 17, 2019. ProQuest Central. 

Page from a website

First footnote: "Classics," College of the Holy Cross, accessed August 19, 2024, https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics. 

Second footnote: "Classics."

Bibliography: "Classics." College of the Holy Cross. Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics. 

As of September 2024, Chicago Manual of Style has updated to the 18th edition. 
Consult with your professor to confirm whether you should use the 17th or 18th edition. 

Chicago Manual of Style, 18th edition:

Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition: