Citation Software
With RefWorks, you can import references from Holy Cross databases to create your own personal list of references and bibliographies for your papers.
- How to: Use RefWorks
-
How to: Export Citations to RefWorks
by HC Libraries Last Updated Mar 31, 2025 27 views this year
Citation Resources
MLA Style, 9th ed.
Book with one editor
(Walker p.10).
Walker, Susan, ed. Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt. Routledge: 2000.
Journal article from an online database
(Montserrat, p. 220).
Montserrat, Dominic. "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits.'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, vol. 79, 1993, pp.215-25. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Newspaper article from an online database
(Riding)
Riding, Alan. "Under the Probing Gaze of the Egyptian Dead." New York Times, 26 April 1997. ProQuest New York Times Historical, https://holycross.idm.oclc.org/login?auth=cas&url=https://www.proquest.com/historical-newspapers/under-probing-gaze-egyptian-dead/docview/109716042/se-2.
Page from a website
(Sabino)
Sabino, Rachel. "Gilding the Dead: Mummy Portraits in Roman Egypt." Art Institute Chicago, 23 Oct. 2019, https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.
MLA Style Resources
Chicago Style (Notes-Bibliography)
*Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes.
Book with a single author or editor
Footnote: Susan Walker, ed., Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt (New YOrk: Routledge, 2000), 10.
Bibliography: Walker, Susan, ed. Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt. New York: Routledge, 2000.
Journal article from an online database
Footnote: Dominic Montserrat, "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits,'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79 (1993): 220, https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Bibliography: Montserrat, Dominic. "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits.'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79 (1993): 215-25. https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Newspaper article from an online database
Footnote: Alan Riding, "Under the Probing Gaze of the Egyptian Dead," New York Times, April 26,1997, ProQuest New York Times Historical.
Bibliography: Riding, Alan. "Under the Probing Gaze of the Egyptian Dead." New York Times, April 26, 1997. ProQuest New York Times Historical.
Page from a website
Footnote: Rachel Sabino, "Gilding the Dead: Mummy Portraits in Roman Egypt," Art Institute Chicago, last modified October 23, 2019, https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.
Bibliography: Sabino, Rachel. "Gilding the Dead: Mummy Portraits in Roman Egypt." Art Institute Chicago. Last modified October 23, 2019. https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.
Chicago Style Resources
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Dinand Reference; Music Reference; Science Reference
APA Style, 7th ed.
Book with a single author or editor
(Walker, 2000, p. 10).
Walker, S., ed. (2000). Ancient faces: Mummy portraits from Roman Egypt. New York: Routledge.
Journal article from an online database
(Montserrat, 1993, p. 220).
Montserrat, D. (1993). The representation of young males in 'Fayum portraits.' The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79: 215-25. https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Newspaper article from an online database
(Riding, 1997, 13).
Riding, A. (1997, April 26). Under the probing gaze of the Egyptian dead. New York Times, 26 April 1997. New York Times, 13.
Page from a website
(Sabino, 2019, para. 2)
Sabino, R. (2019, Oct. 23). Gilding the dead: Mummy portraits in Roman Egypt. Art Institute Chicago. https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.
APA Style Resources
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2019Available in Dinand, Music and Science Library Reference.
