Skip to Main Content
     

HIST 242: British Society and Empire 1763-1901 (Conley): Citing Your Sources

Fall 2023

Citation Software

With RefWorks, you can import references from Holy Cross databases to create your own personal list of references and bibliographies for your papers.



Still using the Legacy version of RefWorks? Please consider migrating as soon as possible! -- but in the meantime, you can still access the Legacy RefWorks site. Contact a librarian for help migrating.

Chicago Citation Help

Below are some common examples to get you started using the Notes-Bibliography Chicago style. Most students at Holy Cross will be using this version of Chicago style. If you are unsure, check with your professor. Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes. 

Need more help? Use the resources listed in the Chicago Citation Help box below. 

Book with a single author

Footnote: Wally Carew, A Farewell to Glory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross (Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003), 10. 

Bibliography: Carew, Wally. A Farewell to Glory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross. Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003. 

Journal article from an online database

Footnote: James G. Hersberg, "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3 (2003): 24.

Bibliography: Hershberg, James G. "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3(2003): 23-48.

Newspaper article from an online database

Footnote: "The Titanic Disaster," The London Times, Apr 16, 1912, p. 9, London Times Digital Archive.

Bibliography: "The Titanic Disaster." The London Times, Apr 16, 1912. London Times Digital Archive.