Skip to Main Content
     

Research In: Deaf Studies & Sign Languages: Find Journal Articles

Recommended Databases

How to Search in CrossSearch and Databases

How to Search in CrossSearch and Databases

1. Our databases, as well as CrossSearch, work differently from Google. Come up with some keywords to refer to your topic. For example, if you asked the question, "What does aging look like in high-level politicians?" You might use keywords like this:

  • President
  • Health
  • Senator
  • Aging
  • Politicians

2. Use the following terms to separate your keywords:

  • AND (this term will ask the search engine to look for the terms you have typed together. This will WIDEN your search.)

  • NOT (this term will ask the search engine to exclude a certain term or terms. This will NARROW your search.)

  • OR (this term will ask the search engine to show you results containing either of the terms you have searched for. This is a great tool to use with synonyms, and will WIDEN your search.)

  • * (if you have a word that has a plural ending, you can use this symbol to ask the search engine to include the term you have searched and all its endings. This will WIDEN your search.)

  • " " (you can use quotes to search for groups of words or a phrase, instead of keywords by themselves.)

  • ( )  (parentheses also act as a grouping tool. Think of them like using the distributive property. You can use them to section off your search, especially if you'd like to exclude terms, or separate them.)

3. Examples:

  • president* AND health
  • (politicians OR presidents) AND (health OR aging)
  • (politicians OR presidents) AND "old age"
  • (politicians OR presidents OR senators) AND "old age" NOT health
 
Research Pro Tip!

After selecting an article, look at the abstract (or short, descriptive summary of the article) before reading it in full. An abstract is usually no more than 250 words in length, and can give you a good idea of whether or not a certain piece of literature may be useful in your research. 

 

Tips for Searching for Journal Articles

In addition to searching the research databases listed here, you may also try searching in specific subject specific journals such as:

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.

If you see an article you'd like to read but you don't see a PDF for the article, click on the purple "Check for Full Text" button. This will open a new window that will allow you to see if HC has access to the article through another database. If HC doesn't have access, try searching Google Scholar. If you aren't able to get the full text there, you can order the article through Interlibrary Loan. 

Scholarly vs. Popular

Scholarly and popular sources are the two types of sources you may find and use in your research. They have different characteristics and purposes so it is important to be able to distinguish between these types of sources.