How to: Manage Digital Records

All records have a lifecycle compromised of four stages: creation, usage, storage and disposition. In the final stage, disposition, records are either disposed of, transferred to the Archives or permanently retained in the office of origin. The appropriate step will depend on whether the record has an enduring historical value or if there any legal mandates or business requriements for retention. 

The length of the lifecycle varies and is determined by an analyis of a record's legal, fiscal, administrative, evidential, hisotrical and informational need. Some records have a very short life span while others should be permenately retained.  

The transfer method for digital records will depend on the quantity. Please contact Archives staff via the archives@holycross.edu before sending us any digital files.

The Holy Cros Archives and Distinctive Collections collects college records of enduring value in the following areas

1. Official college records
   1. Of the governing bodies of the college, such as the Board of Trustees
   2. Of the administrative offices of the college
   3. Of the academic departments and programs of the college
   4. Of the faculty as a body, in committee or individually
   5. Of student organizations, clubs and activities
   6. Of the athletics, intercollegiate and intramural sport programs
2. Supporting materials to the official college records
   1. About the alumni, individually or in groups
   2. All college publications including student publications
   3. Honor Theses, Fenwick Scholar projects and prize-winning works
   4. Faculty and alumni authored books and artistic performances
   5. Works produced as a result of the use of archival material
   6. Object relevant to the collection focus of the Archives

The materials types and formats collected by the Archives are broad and include books, journals, newspapers, yearbooks, manuscripts, architectural drawings, paper documents, photographs, slides, film, electronic files, sound recordings and memorabilia. Some example records are

• Departmental newsletters
• Correspondence, memorandums, meeting minutes and other offices files
• Typewritten copies of speeches given at college events or external events in support of the college's mission
• Pamphlets and flyers advertising the college as well as the college's programs and events
• Annual reports and other major reports such as space studies and program reviews
• Programs of events held on campus
• Photographs of people, campus and college events
• Committee files
• Sport media guides, schedules and rosters
• Student and departmental publications
• Reunion records
• Recordings of college events such as performances, lectures, athletic games and major ceremonies
• Materials documenting the student experience including records of student organizations

Records that should NOT be transferred to the Archives include

• Personnel records
• Medical records
• Education records of living persons, i.e. gradebooks, graded copies of student work, etc.
• Invoices and receipts
• Photocopies
• Records containing personal identifying or sensitive information
• Materials not related to the college or college activities
• Active records, i.e. materails still actively being edited or used

Due to the limitations of both physical and digital storage, we are unable to accept duplicate copies of items already held in our collection. Some exceptions may be made if the second copy has unique features such as annotations. We generally do not accept copies of the major college publications such as but not limited to the Purple Patcher, Holy Cross Magazine, the Purple and /Course Catalog becasue we receive copies of these publications upon release by the department of origin. 

Unsure if a record should or should not be transferred to the Holy Cross Archives? Please get in touch with Archives staff via the archives@holycross.edu email.