Translations - Did You Know?
Did you know...
In ProQuest databases, any items available as an HTML full-text can be translated.
Once you have opened the article, just click under Full Text to expand the translation menu.
(click to enlarge)
Biblioteca Virtual - Miguel de Cervantes
Books & E-Books
BOOKS & E-BOOKS
While we mainly purchase books in English, the Libraries do have many books and e-books in other languages. You can also find non-English books owned by other Libraries to request on Interlibrary Loan.
The literatures of various languages can be found in their own areas of the library in the P call number section. Generally, though, books are organized by their topic, regardless of language.
The best way to find books (and e-books) in languages other than English, is to search for them. Click the next tab for tips on searching for non-English materials.
Search CrossSearch by Language
The best way to find books (and e-books) in languages other than English, is to search for them.
Option 1: Create an Advanced Search
1. Open the Advanced Search screen.
2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list: 
Option 2: Narrow an Existing Search
1. Search by keyword as you normally would.
Search tip: Try searching for terms about your topic in the target language. For example, if you are looking for books about war written in French, try searching for the French word for war, guerre. If you are not sure of the correct keywords in your target language, check the Language Resources offered on the side of this page.
2. On the results screen, first limit your search to books, e-books, and similar items by choosing Catalog Only:
3. At the bottom of the section, click to expand More Limits:
4. Scroll down until you find the options for limiting your search by Language. By default, you will only see the 6 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click See More to view other available languages.
If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search.
5. Check the box next to your target language to narrow your search.
Search WorldCat by Language
You can also look for and borrow books from other libraries by searching the WorldCat database:
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A world-wide catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, and other sources available in libraries worldwide. Includes direct links to request items on Interlibrary Loan.
Option 1: Create an Advanced Search
1. Open the Advanced Search menu.
2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list:
Option 2: Filter an Existing Search
1. Search by keyword as you normally would.
Search tip: Try searching for terms about your topic in the target language. For example, if you are looking for books about war written in French, try searching for the French word for war, guerre. If you are not sure of the correct keywords in your target language, check the Language Resources offered on the side of this page.
2. On the results screen, first limit your search to books by using the Format options on the side menu:
3. Continue to the next section, labeled Refine Your Search.
4. Scroll down until you find the options for limiting your search by Language. By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click See More to view other available languages.
If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search.
5. Click on your target language to narrow your search.
Journal Articles
JOURNAL ARTICLES
The Libraries' research databases include articles written in many different languages from around the world. Each database platform has a different way or ways of allowing you to locate these resources.
Click on the following tabs for tips for using different databases to find research in different languages.
Search tip: You will probably have the most luck by searching for your terms in the target language itself, not the English translation. Often, the metadata that databases use to categorize their content does not accurately reflect what language the entire article/chapter is in - for example, it might be in Spanish with an English abstract, and it will be labeled "in English."
JSTOR
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
1. Open the Advanced Search menu.
2. Enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language from the dropdown menu.
EBSCOhost & CrossSearch
There are two ways to search by language in EBSCOhost databases.
Option 1: Use the Advanced Search
1. The Advanced Search screen is the default landing screen for most of our EBSCO databases. You can access the Advanced Search for CrossSearch at this link.
2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list: 
Option 2: Filter an Existing Search
1. Enter your keywords as normal.
2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language. By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click More > to view other available languages.
If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search.
3. Click the checkbox next to your target language(s) to narrow your search.
ProQuest Databases
There are two ways to search by language in ProQuest databases.
Note: In ProQuest databases, any items available as an HTML full-text can be translated. Once you have opened the article, just click under Full Text to expand the translation menu.
Option 1: Create an Advanced Search
1. Open the Advanced Search menu.
2. Enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list:
Option 2: Filter an Existing Search
1. Enter your keywords as normal.
2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language. By default, you will only see the 5 language categories with the most results in your search. If you do not see the language you are targeting listed, click More > to view other available languages.
If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search.
3. Click on your target language to narrow your search.
Project MUSE
There are two ways to search by language in Project MUSE:
Option 1: Create an Advanced Search
1. Open the Advanced Search menu.
2. From the Advanced Search, enter your keywords as normal.
3. Then, before hitting submit, choose your target Language or Languages from the scrolling list:
Option 2: Filter an Existing Search
1. Enter your keywords as normal.
2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the options for limiting your search by Language.
If your language does not appear, you may need to revise your search.
3. Click the checkbox next to your target language(s) to narrow your search.
PubMed
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles in the life sciences, particularly relating to biomedicine, neuroscience, as well as plant and animal sciences.
There are two ways to search by language in PubMed:
Option 1: Filter an Existing Search
1. Enter your keywords as normal.
2. From the results list, scroll down the side toolbar until you find the button for Additional filters:
3. In the pop-up menu, navigate to the Language section. Choose the languages you would like to include in your search, then choose Show. Your selected languages will now show up as filters on your search.
4. Now, check off the language(s) you would like to apply to your search, to narrow your search.
If no results appear, you may need to revise your search.
Option 2: Create an Advanced Search
1. Open the Advanced Search menu.
2. From the Field drop-down, choose Language.
3. Enter your target language n the search box. Hit Add to include in your search.
4. Repeat Step 3 as needed to include all possible languages, making sure to add additional languages with OR rather than AND.
5. Add your search terms as usual, using the appropriate fields. When your search is ready, hit Search.
Google Scholar
1. Open the Settings menu.
2. On the Scholar Settings page, there will be a menu on the left where you can select Languages
3. Then on the next page, you can check off the desired language under "Search only for pages written in these language(s)".