Getting Copies: Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery
BOOKS:
- InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch our video tutorial
for more information and a complete walkthrough.
Some things to keep in mind:
- Depending on where a book is traveling from, it can take up to 1-2 weeks (though usually less) to arrive. Make sure to plan ahead!
- ILL books often have shorter checkout periods than books you borrow from HC Libraries. When your book arrives, it will come with a sticker indicating the due date.
BOOK CHAPTERS:
- InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch this video for more information and a complete walkthrough.
- Document Delivery is a service that allows you to request a scan of materials owned by the Holy Cross Libraries. To find books or journals for Document Delivery, search the catalog as normal. Document Delivery requests follow the same process as Interlibrary Loan requests.
Requesting Book Chapters:
To request a book chapter on Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery, log into the Interlibrary Loan system....
Use your Google username and password to log-in (the same as you use for your Holy Cross e-mail).
Once you have logged in, choose "Book Chapter" under the appropriate menu:
Then, fill out the request form. A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the chapter, if possible (chapter and book author, chapter and book title, date of publication, publisher, and, ideally, page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email.
ARTICLES:
- InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch this video for more information and a complete walkthrough.
- Document Delivery is a service that allows you to request a scan of materials owned by the Holy Cross Libraries. To find books or journals for Document Delivery, search the databases, Google Scholar, etc. as normal. Document Delivery requests follow the same process as Interlibrary Loan requests.
Requesting Articles via Database:
If you have found an article you would like to request in the article databases and no electronic access is available, you can use the 
button to request an article on Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery.
Click the button. When the pop-up box opens, choose
Log-in using your Google username and password (the same you use for your Holy Cross email).
You should be brought automatically to the Article Request form. The database will fill out most information for you. Check to make sure the information entered is accurate (to help us find your article sooner!). A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the chapter, if possible (author, article and journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email.
Requesting Other Articles:
If you have found an article you would like to request by means other than the article databases, log into the Interlibrary Loan system....
Log-in using your Google username and password (the same you use for your Holy Cross email).
Once you have logged in, choose "Article" under the appropriate menu:
Then, fill out the request form. A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the article (author, article and journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email.
M
any research databases include PDF articles that you can open with a single click.
But some articles, or databases, require a few extra steps. This could be because...
...the database is like a bibliography and includes citations only;
...we have paid to access that particular article through a different database;
...we subscribe to that particular journal in print and don't have the article online;
...we don't have immediate access to the article, but we can get it for you from another library!
And of course, while we're learning remotely, you might need to take advantage of a few extra workarounds.
But don't worry -- this page will teach you how to handle all of these situations!
Article Citations
Being able to follow a citation is crucial for research! If you have a citation, you can use those skills to track down the full-text of the article directly using the E-Journals search.
All of the information that you need to track down an article is located in its citation -- like this one below! Note that the | is not part of the citation -- these symbols mark where each component of the citation begins and ends.
| Glater, Jonathan D. | "The Narrative and Rhetoric of Student Debt." | Utah Law Review | 2018, | no. 4 |
|
Author Title of Article Title of Journal Volume Issue |
|
| (2018):| 885-895. | https://heinonline.org/HOL/P?h=hein.journals/utahlr2018&i=919. |
|
Date Pages DOI, stable URL or database |
Instructions for using the E-Journals search to find articles