Skip to Main Content
     

Class of 2027: HC Libraries & You

Online Resources

Access Library Resources Online

The Holy Cross Libraries provide online resources including electronic journals, databases, ebooks, streaming media, and research guides. You can access electronic resources on and off campus, as long as you are signed in with your Holy Cross Google account. Always go through links on the library's website to make sure your account is logged in. 

Research Guides

Holy Cross Librarians have created a number of guides for specific topics, subject areas, and Holy Cross Classes. Visit our Research Guides list where you can browse by type of guide or by subject, or search for a specific topic or class. These guides include recommended resources, research strategies, and other tips to help you make the most of Library resources.

Databases

Holy Cross subscribes to hundreds of databases to help you conduct research. Databases are online resources that collect a range of journals, magazines, newspapers, and other online sources. They hold the information together so you can search across all of these materials to find articles and other resources. Visit our A-Z Databases List to see what is available.

Streaming Media

You can also access streaming media through the library. Holy Cross subscribes to streaming services that support the needs of the College's programs and you can find media in a variety of areas. Some services available are Kanopy, which includes more than 30,000 documentaries and other films, Met Opera on Demand, the National Theatre Collection, and the Naxos Music Library. See our Streaming Services List for a complete list of services available.

CrossSearch

CrossSearch

CrossSearch (also known as EBSCO Discovery Service) is a one-stop search tool that enables users to simultaneously search most of the informational resources available through the library, including:

  • Books, ebooks, archival materials, media and music scores owned by the Holy Cross Libraries.
  • Research databases like Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, ARTstor and ProQuest Central.
  • E-journal collections like JSTOR and ScienceDirect.
  • The Holy Cross digital repository CrossWorks.
  • Open Access collections such as HaithiTrust Digital Library

You can access CrossSearch from the library home page: https://www.holycross.edu/support-and-resources/holy-cross-libraries

Use CrossSearch to find journal articles, books in the library's collection, ebooks, newspaper articles, and more. 

Screenshot of the CrossSearch search box

How to Use CrossSearch