LibGuides: SPAN 420: Latin American Film (Franco): Home

Recommended databases for journal articles

JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to several hundred major scholarly journals. You can try using Advanced Search to limit your results by discipline to Latin American Studies or Film. To limit to articles written Spanish, go to Advanced Search and use the language drop-down menu. You can access additional JSTOR content from the Boston Public Library by signing up for a BPL eCard
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database offering information in nearly every area of academic study. To limit to sources written in Spanish, use Advanced Search and then choose Spanish from the list of languages under "Limit your results."
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. To limit to sources written in Spanish, use Advanced Search and then choose Spanish from the list of languages under "Limit your results."
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, book reviews, and literary works about Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinx in the United States.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals from a range of areas, including the humanities and social sciences. Once you have done a search, you can limit to articles written in Spanish by using the Language menu option to the left of your search results.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters and magazines about the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450-present.
World History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, primary sources, audiovisual and other credible sources relating to world history, beginning in the ancient world.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database covering over a range of subject areas; includes scholarly journals, as well as news sources and trade publications. To limit your search to articles written in Spanish, you can use Advanced Search and select a language from the list under "Limit your results." Or, use the regular search option and then limit your results by language using the menu option to the right of your search results.

HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars and edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress

EJournals

In addition to searching the research databases listed here, you may also want to try searching in specific subject specific journals. Search Holy Cross' EJournal list here.

EJournals at Holy Cross

Examples of journals: