LibGuides: POLS 299: Humanitarianism (Kennedy): Home

About this guide

This guide provides recommended resources for researching country conditions. You'll find links to resources from:

You'll find many other resources online as well. If you are using other website you have found online, please be sure to evaluate the websites in your search results.

U.S. Department of State
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, U.S. Department of State
Trafficking in Persons Report, U.S. Department of State
International Religious Freedom Report, U.S. Department of State
more...less...
International Religious Freedom Report: Reports on religious freedom in countries all over the world and on government policies violating religious belief and practices
HumanRights.gov
Currently unavailable.
more...less...
The official United States Government's website for information related to human rights. Includes reports on human rights issues. Original link: http://www.humanrights.gov/
Country of Origin Research (Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada)
Research conducted by the Canadian government on human rights abuses in many countries. Also includes National Documentation Packages which have documents and links related to conditions in different countries.

Human Rights Watch
Includes World Report 2014, Human Rights Watch’s annual review of human rights in countries all over the world.
Amnesty International
Includes country reports, topic specific reports, and annual report. You may want to try using the advanced library search.
Forced Migration Online
Information and sources about refugees and forced migration. Coordinated by the University of Oxford's Refugee Studies Centre.
European Country of Origin Information Network
"Gathers, structures and processes publicly available country of origin information with a focus on the needs of asylum lawyers, refugee counsels and persons deciding on claims for asylum and other forms of international protection." Select a country using the drop-down menu on the left.
Freedom in the World
Reports on civil liberties and political rights in countries all over the world. Produced by Freedom House, "an independent watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom around the world."

Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
Includes evaluation and research. Try the advanced search to limit to searching for information about a particular country.
Refworld, UN Refugee Agency
Includes country information, reports, news, and more. Try the advanced search to limit your search to information about a particular country.
Country Reports from the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
Part of the Organization of American States, the IACHR's mission is "to promote and protect human rights in the American hemisphere."
Refugee population by country or territory of asylum (World Bank)
UNHCR Statistical Yearbook
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees' comprehensive annual statistical publication. Covers "global levels and trends in populations of concern to UNHCR" and information about the "demographic characteristics and locations of populations of concern."

ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from a wide range of newspapers and other news sources. Includes national and local newspapers, such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, and Boston Globe. Also includes The Economist. Use Advanced Search to limit by language.

BBC Monitoring
Monitors TV, radio, press, web and news agency sources from countries around the world. Provides reports from each country, along with reports on how the worldwide media is covering the news, including "new and clandestine or unofficial broadcasters" and "changes in media behaviour during crises." The reports from each country include a lists of media sources from each country and many of these sources are in foreign languages.
Media Monitoring Project, Montreal Institute For Genocide and Human Rights Studies, Concordia University
Monitors the news sources of different countries to provide
"early warning of genocide, crimes against humanity, ethnic cleansing, and serious war crimes."

Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers international viewpoints on a wide range of global issues and current events. Includes continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of relevant sources.

How do scholarly journals differ from popular (non-scholarly) publications? Check out this chart for the basic differences.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of sources, including news articles and academic articles, covering a variety of subject areas. Use the menu options to the left of your search results to limit to scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals. Use Advanced Search to limit by language.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of sources, including news articles and academic articles, covering a variety of subject areas. Check the box under the search box to limit to peer-reviewed sources. Use Advanced Search to limit by language.
Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Journal articles from law reviews and other law-related journals.