CLAS 199-F11: Photographing Antiquity (Knott): Crediting Sources

There are two versions of Chicago Style citation. Classicists often use Author-Date Style.

Author-Date differs from the other kind of Chicago Style in two main ways: 

1. As the name indicates, Author-Date citations always begin with the author followed immediately by the date. This is different from Notes-Bibliography Chicago Style where the date usually comes towards the end of the citation. 
    
2. If you need to reference something in the body of your writing, Author-Date uses parenthetical citations. These are similar to what you use in MLA style, but Author-Date citations include three pieces: the author(s)' last name(s), the date of publication, and the page number(s). Notes-Bibliography Chicago, in contrast, uses footnotes to share this information. 

Note that online citation tools will almost always give you the Notes-Bibliography version of Chicago rather than the Author-Date style. So, check carefully! 

Book with a single author or editor*
*For ebooks, add a DOI, permanent link or database at the end. 

In your writing:
(Lastname date, page)
(Seider 2013, 10)

In your bibliography:
Lastname, Firstname Middle. Date. Title of Book. Publisher. 
Seider, Aaron M. 2013. Memory in Vergil's Aeneid: Creating the Past. Cambridge University Press. 

Chapter from an edited book

In your writing:
(Chapter author lastname date, page)
(Knott 2024, 20)

In your bibliography:
Chapter author lastname, Firstname Middle. Date. "Title of Chapter." In Title of Book, edited by Editor1 Firstname Lastname and Editor2 Firstname Lastname. Publisher. 
Knott, Elizabeth. 2024. " "Digitization as Interpretation: Cautions for Archival Archaeology from Artefact Photography."  In Trends in Archive Archaeology: Current Research on Archival Material from Fieldwork and its Implications for Archaeological Practice, edited by Jon Frey and Rubina Raja. Brepols. 

Online journal article (w/ month or season given)

In your writing:
(Lastname date, page)
(Chin 2017, 480)

In your bibliography:
Lastname, Firstname Middle. Date. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, no. Issue (month/season): pages. DOI/stable URL/database. 
Chin, Catherine. 2017. "Marvelous Things Heard: On Finding Historical Radiance." The Massachusetts Review 58, no. 3 (Fall): 478-491. https://www.jstor.org/stable/44808283. 

Online journal article (w/ no month or season given)

In your writing: 
(Lastname date, page)
(Candelora 2017, 46)

In your bibliography: 
Lastname, Firstname Middle. Date. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume (issue): pages. DOI/stable URL/database. 
Candelora, Daniella. 2018. "Entangled in Orientalism: How the Hyksos Became a Race." Journal of Egyptian History 11(1-2): 45-72.  Historical Abstracts. 

The Chicago Manual of Style was updated in September 2024!
While most changes won't affect your research or citation, there are a few things that will. The biggest change is that we no longer list the city of publication for books when we cite them in our bibliography. 

If you are looking at Chicago Style resources or using a citation tool, make sure it's been updated to the newest version of Chicago Style (or ask Jennifer for help!). All of the resources listed here are based on the newest version, which is the 18th edition. 

APA Style is significantly more abbreviated than other citation styles. Here are some of the key characteristics that tend to trip folks up!  

1. Author(s)' first and middle names are always abbreviated. Fun fact: this practice originates with the desire to avoid gender discrimination in the sciences! 
    
2. Titles, with the exception of the title of a journal itself, are in sentence case. This means we capitalize it like a sentence: only the first word of the title/subtitle, plus any proper nouns, are capitalized. 

Note that online citation tools are inconsistent when it comes to handling proper APA capitalization. So, check carefully! 

Book with a single author or editor*
*For ebooks, add a DOI or permanent link at the end. 

In your writing:
(Lastname, date, page)
(Seider, 2013, 10)

In your bibliography:
Lastname, Firstinitial Middleinitial. (Date). Title of book. Publisher.  
Seider, A.M. (2013). Memory in Vergil's Aeneid: Creating the past. Cambridge University Press. 

Chapter from an edited book

In your writing:
(Chapter author, lastname, date, page)
(Knott, 2024, 20)

In your bibliography:
Chapter author lastname, Firstinitial Middleinitial. (Date). Title of chapter. In Editor1 Firstinitial Lastname & Editor2 First Initial Lastname (Eds.), Title of book, (pp. chapter pages). Publisher. 
Knott, E. (2024). Digitization as interpretation: Cautions for archival archaeology from artefact photography. In J. Frey & R. Raja, Trends in archive archaeology: Current research on archival material from fieldwork and its implications for archaeological practice (pp. 19-42). Brepols. 

Online journal article

In your writing:
(Lastname,date, page)
(Chin, 2017, 480)

In your bibliography:
Lastname, Firstinitial Middleinitial. (Date). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume(Issue), pages. DOI/stable URL.
Chin, C. (2017). Marvelous things heard: On finding historical radiance." The Massachusetts Review 58(3), 478-491. https://www.jstor.org/stable/44808283.