O'Callahan Science Library
The O’Callahan Science Library has over 95,000 physical volumes and increasing numbers of electronic product occupies the entire first floor of Swords Hall, the central portion of the five-building Integrated Science Complex. The Science Library subscribes to over 50 major article databases just in the science disciplines, which contain access to thousands of journals.
The Library serves Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics & Computer Science and Physics, as well as the more neuroscientific side of Psychology.
Today's Hours
You Should Know
For NEUR 399-S02, you should be able to do the following:
- Access the libraries' homepage
- Understand the differences between Google Scholar, PsycINFO, PubMed, and ResearchGate
- Use advanced search features in the PubMed database
- Evaluate resources that you find in a database, and identify various types of articles including primary research articles and secondary review articles.
- Read, understand, and analyze a scientific research article
- Read a citation to identify authors names, article titles, journal titles, volume and issue numbers, dates, and doi numbers.
- Locate the full text of an article from a citation
- Know the definition of a "permalink," how to find them in a library database, and when to use them instead of a link in the browser's address bar.
- Find the full text of an article, and use interlibrary loan to access articles we do not own in the libraries' collections
This online guide covers many of these topics. If you have any questions, please reach out to Science Librarian Laura Wilson (contact information is on the "Help" page of this guide).
Study Rooms
There are four group study rooms in the Science Library. At the current time, only one room, Study Room 1, may be reserved in advance by a member of the Holy Cross community. Study Rooms 2-4 are only available on a first come, first served basis.