Welcome!
November is Native American Heritage Month! Check out some of the resources available through the Holy Cross Libraries and beyond to explore more about Native American history and culture.
Featured Books
Discover More
Search these resources for more relevant materials in the HC Libraries collections and beyond.
- American Indian Histories & Cultures
- Academic Video Online Premium (AVON) This link opens in a new window
TV clips, documentaries, and films spanning many different subject areas.
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters and magazines about the history of the United States and Canada, 1450-present.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1684-1820
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1821-1837
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 3 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1838-1852
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 4 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1853-1865
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals, Series 5 This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1866-1912
Early American newspapers and magazines, digitized at the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) in Worcester. - American Periodicals Series This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1740-1940
Historic magazine and journal articles, including professional, childrens' and womens' magazines. - HeritageQuest This link opens in a new window
Ancestry® genealogical database which also includes census records and other historical documents from the U.S. and other countries.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book chapters and magazines about the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450-present.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streaming music from a variety of genres and periods. **Limited to 10 users at a time. Please click "Sign Out" and close the website when you are done.
- SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, and citations for books, conference proceedings, and other resources, in the field of sociology.
- Treaties & Agreements Library This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 1700s-present
Treaties and international agreements in which the United States has participated in its history, including those with indigenous nations, with related government documents and other publications. - U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, primary sources, audiovisual and other credible sources relating to United States history.
NEW from the National Archives: Hundreds of Native American treaties have been scanned and are freely available online, for the first time, through the National Archives Catalog. Also, in partnership with The Museum of Indian Arts and Culture (MIAC), these treaties and extensive additional historical and contextual information are available through Treaties Explorer. (text from the National Archives, Native American Treaties Now Online for the First Time)
Book Titles (alphabetical order)
A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples by Call Number: E76.2 .P75 1998Publication Date: 2000
Native American Dance by Call Number: WAM Stack Room QUARTO E59.D35 N38 1992ISBN: 1563730200Publication Date: 1993-02-01
Dee Brown's Folktales of the Native American by Call Number: Dinand E98.F6 B8595 1993ISBN: 080502607XPublication Date: 1993-06-15
The Arts of the North American Indian by Call Number: WAM Reading Room QUARTO E98.A7 A78 1986ISBN: 0933920555Publication Date: 1986-05-15
Native American Literature: Boundaries and Sovereignties by Call Number: Dinand PN2 .P37 no.15ISBN: 1929512090Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Native American Spirituality by Call Number: Dinand E98.R3 N382 2000ISBN: 0803282613Publication Date: 2000-11-01
Creation's Journey: Native American Identity and Belief by Call Number: Dinand Oversize E98 A7 + C74 1994ISBN: 1560984538Publication Date: 1994-09-17
Peer Research Consultant
This guide originally created by
Kyle Irvine '21
Peer Research Consultant, 2019-2021