CrossSearch is a one-stop search tool that lets you search most of the informational resources available through the library, including:
This can be a good place to start if you want to see a broad scope of the resources available on your topic. However, because CrossSearch includes so many types of resources, you might find you need to filter these results more than you would in a more specific database.
CrossSearch is accessed through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/academics/libraries).
Because CrossSearch includes a wide range of resources, it is helpful to use the built in filters to narrow your results to find relevant information. You can filter your results by publication type, date, subject, language, and more.
After you have entered a search and are on the results page, click on "All filters" below the search box.
This will expand the list of filters for you to choose from. When you have selected a filter (or filters), click "Apply" to update your search.
Use the Source Type filter to search for specific types of publication. Some options include academic journals, news, magazines, and electronic resources. If you know you want to find a specific type of source, like articles in a newspaper, this filter helps you narrow down your search to include just that type of result. You also have the option to select multiple filters.
Library databases also include reference sources, which are sources that provide overviews of a topic and background information to help you in your research (like the name suggests, they are used "for reference"). These include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and indexes. They are generally used to find factual information to build your understanding of a topic before diving into in-depth research.
Encyclopedias include broad overviews of topics. Your search should be fairly general: Think artists, genres, and time periods. You will likely not find an encyclopedia entry about a specific song.
If you cannot find something about your artist in one, try another! Oxford Music Online and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music are focused on music related topics, but may not be updated as frequently as Encyclopedia Britannica. If your artist is newer, Encyclopedia Britannica may be your best choice.
A collection of important music reference works, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Encyclopedia of popular music and musicians across all genres and eras from 1900 to the present day. (Last updated 2016)
Encyclopaedia Britannica Public Library Edition.
Below is a Chicago Author-Date Style citation for an entry in the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Click the link to see the full encyclopedia entry.
Larkin, Colin. 2009. "Paramore." In The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 9th ed. Oxford University Press. https://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780195313734.001.0001/acref-9780195313734-e-21214.
Use the Library Catalog to find print books, print journals, and e-books in the library's collection. Access the Library Catalog search through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/academics/libraries). Above the search bar, select "Library Catalog." To use more advanced searching options, click on the "My Library Account" link below the search bar to go directly to the catalog, where you can search by keyword, title, subject, or call number.
Books are assigned call numbers, which indicate where the book is located on the shelf. Call numbers are related to the subject of a book, so books on similar subjects are grouped together on the shelves.
The Music Library is located in the east end of Fenwick Hall. Music scores, books, LPs, CDs, and videos are located in the Music Library. They will have call numbers starting with the letter M. You can find more information about the Music Library at the guide linked below.
Books contain more information than a scholarly article. They can provide historical perspectives, analysis of a topic, a timeline of events, and larger context around events. Consider your social movement and what keywords are related to it. For example, if you are researching a song about the civil rights movement in the United States, some search terms to find books may include civil rights movement, black history, and segregation. You may also search for specific leaders in the movement.
For the class activity on November 6, make sure the book you find is located in Dinand Library. You can filter by location in the catalog.
Below is a Chicago Author-Date citation for a book from the library.
Kendi, Ibram X., and Keisha N. Blain. 2021. Four Hundred Souls: A Community History of African America, 1619-2019. One World.
Music criticism refers to writing about music, including reviews and analysis. Criticism does not necessarily mean it's bad! That is the term used for writing about works of art. Music criticism can often be found in newspapers and magazines, or on websites dedicated to music like Billboard or Pitchfork.
You can use CrossSearch to find newspaper and magazine sources, or you can select a database specific to these types of sources. If you know you want to see results from this type of publication, it may be more effective to choose a newspaper and magazine database. To find newspaper and magazine databases, start on the A-Z Database list. Click on the dropdown menu labeled "Types" and select "Newspapers & Magazines." Some suggested databases are linked below.
Citations for academic and professional journal articles, magazines, and other publications on music-related topics.
Local, national, and international news, including the Worcester Telegram & Gazette.
Current access to the New York Times site, including news, columns and more -- courtesy of the Holy Cross SGA. ** To access, create an account with your HC email address. If you already have an account, there will be an option to click-through to log in.
Date(s): 1880-2015
American and British magazines about film, music, broadcasting, and theatre, including fan magazines. Includes full issues from publications such as Billboard, The Hollywood Reporter, The Stage, Variety, and many more.
This is where you can search for your specific song, artist, or album. If you are researching a contemporary song, you may be able to find a review of the album it is on, or the song itself. Select one of the newspaper databases above and search the name of your song and the artist.
Below is a Chicago Author-Date citation for a music review in a newspaper from a database.
Jones, Solomon. 2018. "'This Is America,' One Scary Place." The Philadelphia Inquirer. May 13. https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/document-view?p=AWNB&docref=news/16BEE8BAA0722318. NewsBank: Access World News.
About DatabasesA database is a collection of information that is arranged and tagged for easy searching and retrieval. Think of a database like an online storage container: It stores different publications, journals, books, magazines, and newspapers and makes it possible for you to access them. The library subscribes to over 300 databases that are available for Holy Cross students to use. Visit our A-Z Databases list to see what is available.
Not everything in a database is a scholarly journal article! Use the filters in the database to select a specific type of source: Peer Reviewed Articles or Academic Journals.
General databases include information and journals that cover many subjects and academic fields.
To find general databases, go to the A-Z Database List. In the dropdown menu labeled "Subjects," select "_General" and click "Search." You will see a list of general databases, with some highlighted as "Best Bets." Some general databases are listed below.
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
Journal articles, magazines, and news in almost every subject area.
Subject databases include journals and publications from a specific academic field.
To find subject databases, go to the A-Z Database List. In the dropdown menu labeled "Subjects," select your subject area and click "Search." Some Music databases are listed below.
Citations for academic and professional journal articles, magazines, and other publications on music-related topics.
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, catalogues, dissertations and other music publications, worldwide and in all languages, from 1830s to present.
To search for scholarly articles, your search terms will need to be more specific. Consider what terms are related to your topic. You may not be able to find scholarly research that is about your song or artist specifically. Instead, think about the genre, the social movement, and the larger context of the song.
For example, if I am researching "This is America" by Childish Gambino, I may use the search terms rap, gospel, racial justice, black lives matter, racism, and gun violence.
You should combine your search terms to build out your topic.
Below is an example Chicago Author-Date citation for a scholarly article. Click here explore the article. This article is published in the journal Information, Communication & Society, which is a peer reviewed journal that publishes scholarly research.
Harlow, Summer, and Anna Benbrook. 2019. “How #Blacklivesmatter: Exploring the Role of Hip-Hop Celebrities in Constructing Racial Identity on Black Twitter.” Information, Communication & Society 22 (3): 352–68. doi:10.1080/1369118X.2017.1386705.
Did you find an article, book chapter, or book that you want to read, but Holy Cross doesn't have access to it? Use Interlibrary Loan to request any materials not owned by Holy Cross and the Library will try to get what you need.
If you find an article in a Library database, use the purple "Check For Full Text" button to start an Interlibrary Loan request. You can also log in to your Interlibrary Loan account (linked below) to enter a request for the item you need. That account is also where you can view the status of your request, request renewals, and download your electronic materials. Articles and book chapters are typically delivered electronically. Print books will be delivered to the campus library of your choice. You will get an email when your item is ready.
Plan ahead: Interlibrary Loan can take time to process. Journal articles are usually available in less than a week, and print books may take longer if they are shipping from far away.
A world-wide catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, and other sources available in libraries worldwide. Includes direct links to request items on Interlibrary Loan.