Collected on this guide are resources, tools, and instructions all designed to help you navigate library resources and aid you in research for your Music classes. On the home page you will find answers to our most frequent questions about the music library and the contact information for our Music Librarian and our Music Library Assistant. Other pages will help you browse the library's collections of books, scores, audio recordings, and online resources. If you have any questions about the resources you find here, or are still feeling unsure about your research, please contact a librarian for help!
For music in research, you will be spending a lot of time in Holy Cross's Music library, located in the east end of Fenwick Hall. The goal of the library is to support the music department curriculum and provide print, sound, and electronic music-related materials for the Holy Cross community.
The Music library houses our collection of music scores, books, LPs, CDs, and videos, along with all of the necessary playback equipment. You can also sign out a Brooks practice room at the Library Circulation desk.
If you have questions about the Music library please call us at 508-793-2637, email musiclibrary@holycross.edu, or contact a member of our staff.
Regular Hours:
Sunday: 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday - Thursday: 8:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday: 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Summer and Semester Breaks:
8:30 - 4:30 weekdays. Closed weekends, evenings & holidays.
What types of items does the Music Library have?
We are a library dedicated to all aspects of music research. Our print collection houses many resources useful for your work: scores and sheet music, books on music and musical topics, reference material (e.g. encyclopedias), music periodicals, sound recordings, and DVD performances. Holy Cross’ libraries also subscribe to electronic resources including many music-specific databases (e.g. Oxford Music Online), interdisciplinary databases (e.g. JSTOR), and e-books accessible from on and off campus.
What unique items does the Music Library have?
We also lend non-book items which may helpful for your research and assignments: keyboards, headphones, tuners, metronomes, high-quality microphones, portable DVD players, and practice room keys.
How do I use a practice room?
Practice room keys are available at the Circulation Desk. The keys circulate to you for 2 hours; you will need to bring the key back or renew to not to incur fines.
How do I use an item on print course reserve?
All course reserve materials are housed behind the Circulation Desk. Please inquire with the specific name of the item at the Circulation Desk; it circulates for up to two hours and cannot be taken from the Music Library.
How do I access digital reserves?
All digital course reserves are available through the library website course reserve page or your course’s Canvas page.
How do I access CDs, LPs, and DVDs?
These forms of media are also behind the Circulation Desk; please ask and we will retrieve the item.
How many items can I borrow at once?
20 (including scores, books, CDs, etc. from all libraries).
What resource is a good place to start my research?
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a music encyclopedia, contained in the Oxford Music Online database offers broad overviews of musicians and musical topics, but provides many details critical to research. This makes the articles a good place to begin. The style and layout may remind you of Wikipedia; however, New Grove is written and compiled by scholars whereas Wikipedia is comprised of user-contributed information. It is especially useful for a comprehensive work list and extensive bibliography.
How do I access and search the library catalog?
The library catalog is a database containing all print and e- book holdings owned by Holy Cross’ Libraries. Go to the Library website (https://www.holycross.edu/academics/libraries) and you will see a search box with several tabs. Click the "Library Catalog" tab to search within our library collections. Type some search terms describing the item(s) you are looking for and click “find it.” The results can be filtered to specific types of items using the facets on the right side (e.g. filter by publishing date, type of item, language, etc.).
What music-specific databases does Holy Cross subscribe to?
Although music materials may be found in other interdisciplinary databases, the following list contains the most commonly-used music-specific databases accessible at Holy Cross:
How do I access the above databases?
On the Library website under , select “Research Databases.” On the next page (A-Z Databases), select “Music” from the “All Subjects” drop down menu. This will list the majority of music-related databases; select the desired database.
What is a call number and how do I read it?
Call numbers allow librarians to (1) organize library items on the shelf by topic or item type, and (2) give each item a unique "address" that can be used to locate it in the library. Each letter and number in a call number refer to information about the item’s topic. For music, there are three classes: M (printed sheet music, scores, parts, miniature scores, etc.), ML (music literature; primarily musicology, books on composers, performers, world music, etc.), and MT (music teaching; books on how to play an instrument, music theory, etc.). In particular, ML410 features composer biographies which may be helpful your assigned listening reports. All M classes are found in the Music Library.
What if I can’t find a particular item I’m looking for?
Please ask someone at the music library circulation desk or send the music librarian an email! Music is often difficult to find, and we are happy to assist your research in any way. You can also schedule a Personal Research Session with the music librarian before starting an assignment; as the research process takes time, it is often helpful to consult us far in advance. Additionally, Holy Cross offers Interlibrary Loan--the temporary lending of items from other libraries. There are instructions for that service on the "navigating library resources" page of this guide.
