Book with a single author or editor
In-Text:
(Author Lastname page#).
(Schoenberger 10).
Works Cited:
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. Title of Book. City of Publication*, Publisher, Publication Date.
Schoenberger, Melissa. Cultivating Peace: The Virgilian Georgic in English, 1650-1750. Bucknell University Press, 2019.
*Note: the City of Publication should only be used if the book was published before 1900, if the publisher has offices in more than one country, or if the publisher is unknown in North America.
Journal article from an online database
In-Text:
(Author Lastname page#).
(Amatangelo 250).
Works Cited:
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. volume, no. issue, Year, pp. pages (if given). Name of Database, URL or DOI link.
Amatangelo, Susan. "Coming to Her Senses: The Journey of the Mother in La lunga vita di Marianna Ucria." Italica, vol. 79, no. 2, 2002, pp. 240-256. JSTOR, https://doi.org/10.2307/3655997.
Online newspaper/magazine article
In-text:
(Author Lastname)
(Malia)
Works Cited:
Author Lastname, Author Firstname. "Article Title." Newspaper Title, day month year. Database (if applicable), URL.
Malia, Scott. "Bradley Cooper, Cillian Murphy and the Myths of Method Acting." The Caledonian-Record, 5 Mar. 2024. Access World News, https://infoweb.newsbank.com/apps/news/document-view?p=WORLDNEWS&docref=news%2F1979DD1A9FC9E8B0#copy.
Page from a website
In-text:
("Name of Page")
("Glosario")
Works Cited:
Author Lastname, Firstname [if given]. "Title of Webpage." Title of Website, link. Accessed day month, year.
"Glosario." Cineglos, https://cineglos.holycross.edu/glosario/a/. Accessed 18 August 2024.
Citing dictionaries and encyclopedias differs depending on whether you consulted a physical resource or an online source.
Physical Dictionary/reference resource
Formula:
Author last name, first name (if given). "title of entry." Title of dictionary of encyclopedia, edited by first name last name, volume or edition information, publisher, year, page or page range.
Example:
"Literacy." Webster's College Dictionary, edited by Robert B. Costello, Random House, 1991, p. 792.
Online Reference Source
Most online works do not give an author or editor name, so instead you cite the specific name of the tool used in itallics and the name of the company it is produced by in place of an editor.
Formula:
Author last name, first name (if given). "title of entry." Title of dictionary or encyclopedia tool, editor or General resource name, permalink. Accessed day Mon. Year.
Example:
"Belfast." Britannica Library, Encyclopædia Britannica, 13 Mar. 2025. libraries.state.ma.us/login?eburl=https%3A%2F%2Flibrary.eb.com&ebtarget=%2Flevels%2Freferencecenter%2Farticle%2FBelfast%2F15190&ebboatid=301196. Accessed 5 Nov. 2025.
Movie Title. Contributor(s), Production Company, Year of Release. Streaming Service, URL.
Contributors can mean just the director and writer, or it can also mean the director and some of the leading cast if their performance is relevant to what you are trying to cite. If you were citing the video to speak on Amy Adams performance in American Hustle, you would want to include her as a contributor. It may look like this:
American Hustle. Directed by David O. Russell, written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell, starring Amy Adams,
Columbia Pictures, Atlas Entertainment, Annapurna Pictures, 2013. Amazon Prime, https://www.amazon.com/American-Hustle-Christian-Bale/dp/B00HVNZHZW .
