Data Rescue 2025: Home

Data Rescue Project

The Data Rescue Project is a coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk.

Harvard's Library Innovation Lab: Data.gov Archive

This 16TB collection includes over 311,000 datasets harvested during 2024 and 2025, a complete archive of federal public datasets linked by data.gov. It will be updated daily as new datasets are added to data.gov.

Internet Archive Wayback Machine Collection Search (2024 Coming Soon)

Use the "Collection Search" drop-down menu to select earlier End Of Term Collections

Every four years, before and after the U.S. presidential election, a team of libraries and research organizations, including the Internet Archive, work together to preserve material from U.S. government websites during the transition of administrations. These “End of Term” (EOT) Web Archive projects have been completed for term transitions in 2004, 2008, 2012, 2016, and 2020, with 2024 well underway. The effort preserves a record of the U.S. government as it changes over time for historical and research purposes.

IPUMS USA collects, preserves and harmonizes U.S. census microdata and provides easy access to this data with enhanced documentation. Data includes decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 350,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 23 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.  Access provided by College of the Holy Cross Libraries.

Naseem S. Miller from The Journalist's Resource (Harvard Kennedy School - Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy) has curated a list of non-government websites with health databases that is regularly updated.  It includes alternative sources of health data and tips for preserving websites.

The Center for Open Data Enterprise (CODE) is a non-profit whose mission is to harness the power of open and shared data for the public good. They have created a document tracking organizations that are working to download and archive datasets.

Boston University School of Public Health has launched FindLostData.org, a platform developed to help researchers find datasets from federal websites and have been archived across multiple sites.