Updates for CrossSearch

Updates Coming for CrossSearch and EBSCOhost databases

On August 5, 2025, the College of the Holy Cross will update platforms for our CrossSearch and EBSCOhost databases. We want to update the community about these changes before they go live.

CrossSearch

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) is the search engine behind CrossSearch. The new interface will bring several important new features, including:

• Filters were previously on the left of the search results page. They are now on the right, and are hidden by default. After performing a search, you can click the “More Filters” button underneath the search box to reveal them.
• Filters are now “sticky,” meaning they will remain applied to your search until you remove them or click “New search.”
• The new CrossSearch has durable, persistent URLs, which means you can copy the URL in the address bar to return to this page later, or share with others.

We invite users to try out the new CrossSearch before it goes live on August 5, 2025.

For more information, please see the following:

• Introduction to the New EBSCO Discovery Service – Tutorial
• The New EBSCO Discovery Service – Quick Start Guide
• The New EBSCO Discovery Service – Frequently Asked Questions

EBSCOhost

The EBSCOhost databases platform will also move to an updated user interface on August 5, 2025. This platform supports numerous databases, including Academic Search Complete, PsycINFO, EconLit, and Historical Abstracts with Full Text. The database coverage will remain the same.

These changes reflect a move to a more modern user interface, based on extensive user experience testing. The interface features are similar to those of the new CrossSearch described above, including sticky filters, and durable URLs. Other enhancements include personalized dashboards and improved accessibility standards. All databases can now be , while preserving specialized features such as thesauri and classification searches.

We invite the community to preview the new EBSCOhost platform before the transition on August 5, 2025.

For more information, please see the following:

• Introduction to the New EBSCOhost – Tutorial
• The New EBSCOhost – Quick Start Guide
• The New EBSCOhost – Frequently Asked Questions

Questions?

For questions or more information on either of these platform changes, please contact libref@holycross.edu