Latin & Greek Texts
REFERENCES TO LATIN & GREEK TEXTS
When citing or referring to specific passages in an ancient text, students and scholars of the classics use a standard system of references. Almost all editions and translations of these texts use the same system of divisions and numbering, so that you can use the reference to find a particular passage no matter which version of the text you are using! Being able to read this system is crucial for interacting with ancient texts as well as secondary, scholarly sources about them.
LOCATING LATIN & GREEK TEXTS
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Complete access to the Loeb Classical Library -- Greek and Latin texts with facing English translations.
- Scaife Viewer (Open Greek and Latin, Perseus Digital Library)Browsable collection of ancient texts and other resources relating to the ancient world.
in the library...
At Holy Cross, we organize our books using a system called Library of Congress Classification or LCC. LCC is based on the subject of the books. Each letter represents a specific subject. Each subject is broken down into more specific letter sections, each of which is further broken down into number ranges for specific topics. Most call numbers have additional numbers and letters on the end of them, which are used to give each book a unique spot on the library shelves.
Here are the areas where you will find editions and translations of relevant ancient texts. These are also marked on the map attached this box:
|
|
You can see the entire author-by-author breakdown here (classical languages begin on page 37).
IMPORTANT SERIES
The library might contain dozens of editions of a particular Latin or Greek text -- but not all editions are equal! Here are some of the most prominent series of text editions that you may want to consult:
Loeb Classical LibraryThe Loeb Classical Library contains editions of Greek and Latin texts with facing English translation. There are two Loeb series: the Latin Series (in red) and the Greek Series (in green). Loeb editions include essential text commentary as well as substantial introductions to the text.
Click the link above to see a list of Loeb titles in the Holy Cross Libraries. The Classics Department has its own Loeb Library.
Additionally, you can access the entire series online through the Libraries' subscription...
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Complete access to the Loeb Classical Library -- Greek and Latin texts with facing English translations.
Oxford Classical Texts (OCT)This series, formally known by the Latin title Scriptorum classicorum bibliotheca Oxoniensis, contains high-quality editions of Latin and Greek texts, accompanied by a critical apparatus rather than commentary.
Click the link above to see a list of OCT titles in the Holy Cross Libraries.
Bibliotheca TeubnerianaThe Bibliotheca Teubneriana, fully titled Bibliotheca scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana, is another series of high-quality critical editions of Greek and Latin literature ranging from the classical period to Neo-Latin. The series has been published since 1849 and is now published by de Gruyter.
Click the link above to see a list of Teubneriana titles in the Holy Cross Libraries.
ONLINE COLLECTIONS OF TEXTS
In addition to the resources available in Dinand Library and in the online library collections, there are many free places that you can access and search Latin and Greek texts. These can be helpful for tasks like quickly reading a passage or looking up the translation of words, and they can also be useful for projects where you need to research how often or in which places a particular Latin or Greek word is used. This box lists online resources for this purpose recommended by faculty, students, and/or librarians.
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Complete access to the Loeb Classical Library -- Greek and Latin texts with facing English translations.
- Scaife Viewer (Open Greek and Latin, Perseus Digital Library)Browsable collection of ancient texts and other resources relating to the ancient world.
- Perseus Digital LibraryHighly-respected digital library with a variety of resources on the ancient world, including texts, images, and grammar/translation tools.
- Catalog of Scholarly Digital EditionsAn annotated catalog of sources for digital editions of texts online.
- Monumenta Asiae Minoris Antiqua XIA collection of 387 inscriptions and monuments in Greek and/or Latin, recorded in Phyrgia and Lykaonia in the mid-20th century. The collection includes a combination of photographs, sketches, squeezes (impressions) and typed transcriptions of the inscription texts.
- Google Books: Greek & Latin TextsCollection of over 500+ free Greek and Latin texts in ebook format, selected by Prof. Gregory Crane and Alison Babeau at Tufts University/Perseus Digital Library.
Latin Texts
- PHI Latin TextsAn extensive database containing "essentially all Latin literary texts written before AD 200," maintained by the Packard Humanities Institute. In addition to the texts themselves, the website also includes a word search and searchable concordance.
- Latin LibraryThe Latin Library has several classical texts organized by author for free. These texts are great to use if you like to use a blank sheet (without vocabulary notes or grammar notes) to study Latin.
- Forum Romanum: Corpus Scriptorum LatinorumThis section of the Forum Romanum site serves as a central index of open-access Latin texts available on the web. Entries are listed by author, and provide links to primary texts, translations in various languages, and relevant secondary texts.
Greek Texts
- Abridged Online TLGThe Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is the standard corpus of ancient Greek works from Homer to 1453 and beyond. With a free account, this abridged version allows you to browse selected texts in the corpus. This site works best on computers with a polytonic Greek font installed; TLG has a list of suggested fonts.
To explore the TLG by author, use the Canon of Authors and Works (available online or in the library). - PHI Greek InscriptionsAn in-progress database of transcribed Greek inscriptions from a range of geographic areas. Inscriptions can be browsed by geographic region and corpora and then searched by number. This database is maintained by the Packard Humanities Institute.
- Attic Inscriptions OnlineCollection of annotated English translations of Attic (Greek) inscriptions.
- The Chicago HomerDatabase of early Greek epic texts (incl. the works of Homer in Hesiod) in Greek as well as English and sometimes German translation. The database includes parsing tools, and, in the downloadable WordHoard version, linking to lemmata and scholia.
Lexica, Grammars & More
LATIN LANGUAGE TOOLS
Recommended Dictionaries & Grammars
- Perseus Digital LibraryHighly-respected digital library with a variety of resources on the ancient world, including texts, images, and grammar/translation tools.
- TLL Open AccessThe Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) is a massive dictionary which is compiled from all surviving Latin texts pre-600 AD. The dictionary is still in-progress and is completed up to the letter R. The Open Access TLL contains searchable PDFs of each individual dictionary volume, and an index. Dinand also has the first 9 volumes in print. The Library of Antiquity blog has a helpful guide to using the TLL.
- William Whitaker's WordsA helpful Latin-English/English-Latin dictionary and parsing tool hosted by the University of Notre Dame.
A New Latin Dictionary by Call Number: Dinand Stacks PA2365 E5 +A5 1907Other copies: At the same call number; online at Internet Archive; online at HathiTrust.
______________________________________________________
An intermediate dictionary, usually just called "The Lewis & Short."- Oxford Latin DictionaryCall Number: Reference PA2365.E5 +O98Other copies: At the same call number in the Dinand Library Stacks
______________________________________________________
The"standard" dictionary for classical Latin and the largest listed on this guide. - Cassell's Latin Dictionary: Latin-English, English-LatinCall Number: Reference PA2365.E5 C3 1968Other copies: At the same call number in the Dinand Library Stacks; online at Internet Archive.
______________________________________________________
A popular student dictionary. Its Latin-English section is helpful for Latin composition. - Collins Latin Dictionary & GrammarCall Number: Reference PA2365.E5 C58 2016Publication Date: 2016______________________________________________________
A newer dictionary combined with a Latin grammar, geared at students. - Allen & Greenough's New Latin GrammarCall Number: Dinand Stacks PA2087 .A42Other copies: At the same call number; online at Internet Archive; online at the Perseus Digital Library; online at Dickinson College Commentaries.
Other Study Tools
- Numen: The Latin LexiconAn online dictionary and grammar tool based on a number of texts including Lewis & Short's Latin dictionary. Look up words, create study lists and flashcards, and more.
- Dickinson College Commentaries - Reference BooksA collection of tools for Latin and Greek reference and study, including grammars, word lists, and paradigm charts.
- Textkit Greek & Latin Book CollectionCompilation of (generally out-of-copyright) Latin and Greek textbooks and reference books which are freely available online.
- @LatinTutorial (YouTube)YouTube Channel featuring tutorials on many different aspects of Latin grammar and language.
GREEK LANGUAGE TOOLS
Recommended Dictionaries & Grammars
- Perseus Digital LibraryHighly-respected digital library with a variety of resources on the ancient world, including texts, images, and grammar/translation tools.
- Abridged Online TLGThe Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is the standard corpus of ancient Greek works from Homer to 1453 and beyond. With a free account, this abridged version allows you to browse selected texts in the corpus, with dictionary and parsing tools. The site also has a built-in LSJ search.
- A Greek-English Lexicon by Call Number: Reference PA445.E5 L7Other copies: At the same call number in the Dinand Library Stacks; online at the TLG; online at the Perseus Digital Library; online at the Internet Archive; online at HathiTrust.
______________________________________________________
Commonly called the LSJ or "Great Scott," this is the largest and "standard" lexicon for the study of classical Greek. - An Intermediate Greek-English Lexicon by Call Number: Reference PA445.E5 L7i 2010Other copies: Online at the Perseus Digital Library; online at the Internet Archive; online at HathiTrust.
______________________________________________________
Sometimes called the "Middle Liddell," this more-manageable dictionary is a popular tool for Greek students. - Smyth's Greek GrammarCall Number: Dinand Stacks PA258 .S66grOther copies: At the same call number; online at the Perseus Digital Library; online at the Internet Archive; online at HathiTrust.
______________________________________________________
Other Study Tools
- Philolog.usStreamlined interface for accessing the Lewis & Short (Latin), LSJ and Slater (Greek) lexica.
- Textkit Greek & Latin Book CollectionCompilation of (generally out-of-copyright) Latin and Greek textbooks and reference books which are freely available online.
- Dickinson College Commentaries - Reference BooksA collection of tools for Latin and Greek reference and study, including grammars, word lists, and paradigm charts.
- Nifty Greek HandoutsA series of guides to Greek morphology and syntax.
- A Digital Tutorial for Ancient GreekInteractive tutorial based on John William White's 1896 First Greek Book