Locating Sources from L'Annee Philologique
L'Aph is more of an index than a full-text database (that is, the PDF of most articles it will find is not immediately available). Often, you may be provided only with the citation information for the source you're interested in reading.
But, don't despair! -- there are multiple ways to get access to these resources. This page suggests some steps that you can take to find full-text access to materials in L'Aph. Of course, you can always ask for assistance as well.
If you come across an interesting resource that is not owned by the Holy Cross Libraries, remember that you can always request it through Interlibrary Loan.
First, Identify Your Source!
Before you can locate a source, you must know what it is. L'Annee is not limited to journal articles -- it also searches standalone books (monographs), essays/chapters published in books, critical editions, theses, exhibition catalogues, and many other kinds of publications. Your process of locating the full-text source will vary depending on the nature of that source.
(Note that if you're on the hunt for a specific type of source -- e.g., journal articles -- you can limit your search accordingly).
L'Annee offers two ways to identify your source. First, in the search results, a small icon indicates general source type:
Hover your mouse over the icon to see alternate text and more detailed information about the source type.
Additionally, each resource record includes a designation of source type:
If all else fails, you can generally tell by the variety and arrangement of citation information provided.
Locating Sources
STEP 1 - Check Online
In L'Annee, use the 
button to check our databases for a copy of the article.
You can also track down a journal and/or article directly through the eJournals portal. All the information that you will need is in this citation.
Look up the journal in question (here, New England Classical Journal), then check the holdings given against the volume, issue and/or date of the article's publication to determine whether it is available.
STEP 2 - Check in Print
If you can't find the journal in eJournals, check CrossSearch or the Classic Catalog -- especially with older periodicals, we may have a physical copy in the library.
STEP 3 - Request on Interlibrary Loan
InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request resources -- including journal articles-- owned by other libraries all over the US, and in some cases, around the world! Once you've placed a request, another library will send a scan of the article to Holy Cross, and it will be delivered directly to your e-mail.
Keep in mind: Depending on how long it takes a library to accept the request and scan the article, it can take up to 1 week or more (though usually less) to arrive. Make sure to plan ahead!
To request an article directly from L'Annee:
- Click
- On the next screen, choose
Then, log-in with your Holy Cross Google username and password.
OR, if that doesn't work:
- Choose ILLiad Interlibrary Loan on the left navigation menu on the Libraries' home page.
Click the link for ILLiad Interlibrary Loan to log in with your Holy Cross Google username and password.
From the left navigation, menu, choose New Request > Article.
Once you are in ILLiad:
- You will see a form labeled Article Request. Fill in any important information that might be missing, and check to make sure the information is accurate. A good rule is that the form should include whatever information would be needed to cite the source in question.
In particular, you should check for the article title, page numbers, journal title, journal volume (and issue if applicable), and the publication date. The more accurate this information is, the more quickly librarians will be able to find the right article.
- When you are finished, hit Submit Request. You will see a confirmation that your request has been sent and is waiting for processing. Once your article has arrived, you will receive an e-mail with a PDF of the article.
- To check on the status of your request at any time, you can choose ILLiad Interlibrary Loan on the left navigation menu on the Libraries' home page, then click the link for ILLiad Interlibrary Loan to log in.
The button DOES NOT WORK for locating books/monographs, as it is unable to differentiate and properly search the different components of a book article citation. Fortunately, you can!
STEP 1 - Check the Holy Cross Libraries
Check CrossSearch (on the library homepage) or the Classic Catalog to search for the book, using the given title. The book may be in electronic or print format. If it is an e-book, you can usually click in to view the book immediately. If it is a book in print, you will need to use the call number given to locate the book in one of the libraries.
If we do not own the book containing your book article, you should check...
Keep in mind: most ILL requests make use of the U.S. mail. This means that a book can take 1 week or more (though usually less) to arrive. Make sure to plan ahead!
While you will not be able to submit a book request directly through L'Annee, there is a way to have the form pre-filled for you -- or, you can fill out the request form manually.
- To start, search the title of the book using the
database, which combines library catalogs from all over the world. You may want to use quotations around the title for the best results. Click on the record that matches the book you are interested in.
Note: The find a copy in the library section will tell you at which libraries the book is available, which can sometimes give you a better sense of how easy the book is to obtain or how long it will take to travel to HC -- but don't worry about identifying the lending library; we'll handle that!
- Choose
, and log-in using your Holy Cross Google username and password.
- You will see a form labelled Book Request. WorldCat will have filled out most of the form for you. Fill in any important information that might be missing such as the publication date or author (this information will usually be in the WorldCat record). The more complete the form is, the more quickly library staff will be able to find a copy of the book for you. A good rule is to include all of the information you would need to write a citation for the book.
- When you are finished, hit Submit Request. You will see a confirmation that your request has been sent and is waiting for processing. Once your book has arrived, you will receive an e-mail notification.
- To check on the status of your request at any time, you can choose Borrowing -- ILLiad Interlibrary Loan on the left navigation menu on the Libraries' home page, then click the link for ILLiad Interlibrary Loan to log in.
, and l
The process of locating articles in books (sometimes also called essays or chapters) is similar to the process for locating monographs. As you might expect, you first need to locate the book that contains the article and determine whether the library has electronic or print access to that book.
Like books, the button DOES NOT WORK for locating book articles, as it is unable to differentiate and properly search the different components of a book article citation. Fortunately, you can!
STEP 1 - Locate the Book
Use the steps indicated on the previous tab to search for the book that contains the article. Use the Book Title and Book Editor(s) (if an author is needed) to search rather than the article title or author, as these are not usually searchable. The book may be in electronic or print format -- either way, you will be able to access the chapter fairly easily.
Once you have located the book, use the citation information to identify the correct page number(s) that you need. You can also check the book's table of contents.
STEP 2 - Request on Interlibrary Loan
If we do not own the book containing your book article, the next step is to place an Interlibrary Loan request. Unlike with articles or books, for book articles you will need to manually fill out the form on your own (but there are benefits to this!)
- Choose ILLiad Interlibrary Loan on the left navigation menu on the Libraries' home page.
Click the link for ILLiad Interlibrary Loan to log in with your Holy Cross Google username and password.
From the left navigation, menu, choose New Request > Book Chapter.
A Book Chapter request allows you to request to have a single chapter or essay from a book scanned and e-mailed to you. This process can be significantly faster than ordering an entire book, as the book chapter can be transmitted electronically but a book must travel through the mail.
Once you are in ILLiad:
- You will see a form labeled Book Chapter Request. Fill in any important information that might be missing, and check to make sure the information is accurate. A good rule is that the form should include whatever information would be needed to cite the source in question.
With a book chapter, the page numbers, chapter author and chapter title (if available) are key to helping librarians locate the correct chapter. Of course, the book publication information is also vital.
- When you are finished, hit Submit Request. You will see a confirmation that your request has been sent and is waiting for processing. Once your article has arrived, you will receive an e-mail with a PDF of the article.
- To check on the status of your request at any time, you can choose ILLiad Interlibrary Loan on the left navigation menu on the Libraries' home page, then click the link for ILLiad Interlibrary Loan to log in.