Skip to Main Content
     

HIST 200: Historian's Craft (Bazzaz): Collect & Cite Research

Fall 2022

Chicago Style

Basics of Chicago Style:

If you are unsure, check with your professor. Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes. 
Need more help? Use the resources listed in the Chicago Citation Help box below. 

Book with a single author

Footnote: Wally Carew, A Farewell to G|lory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross (Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003), 10. 

Bibliography: Carew, Wally. A Farewell to Glory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross. Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003. 
 

Journal article from an online database

Footnote: James G. Hersberg, "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3 (2003): 24.

Bibliography: Hershberg, James G. "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3(2003): 23-48.

Published correspondence

Footnote: Grant to McPherson, 1 July 1863, in The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, ed. John Y. Simon (Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1979), 8:200. 

Bibliography:Grant, Ulysses S. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant to Gen. James B. McPherson, 1 July 1863. In The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, edited by John Y. Simon, vol. 8. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1979. 
 

Newspaper article from an online database

Footnote: "The Titanic Disaster," The London Times, Apr 16, 1912, p. 9, London Times Digital Archive.

Bibliography: "The Titanic Disaster." The London Times, Apr 16, 1912. London Times Digital Archive.

Image from an online archive

Footnote: Timothy H. Sullivan, Group on J.J. Smith's Planation, Beaufort, S.C., 1862, photograph, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., http://www.slaveryimages.org/s/slaveryimages/item/1367. 

Bibliography: Sullivan, Timothy H. Group on J.J. Smith's Planation, Beaufort, S.C. 1862. Photograph. Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. http://www.slaveryimages.org/s/slaveryimages/item/1367.

Chicago Style Resources:

citing legal & government docs (ex, Congressional Record)

Collecting Research

Notetaking:
 

It's very important to keep track of your resources and findings throughout your research process. There are many ways to do this -- the most important thing is to find a process that works for you, and that allows you to share your findings with others. 

Whatever your process, make sure that you find a way to: 

  1. Keep track of which notes (and especially quotations) came from which source;
  2. Note detailed directions like page numbers, where included, so that you can find the information again later; and
  3. Record all of the information needed to cite each source that you consult, even if you aren't sure yet whether you will use it. 
     

 

Citation Managers (for traditional "published" sources):

RefWorks isn't the only option -- if you prefer, you can use one of these third-party citation managers (but note that your use of them is governed by their terms of service,, and that we have limited control/troubleshooting ability!)

Collecting Unpublished and Multimedia Sources:

For "non-traditional' sources like interviews, images, social media, websites, etc. -- traditional reference tools don't always work particularly well. However, there are other tools available which are better suited for storing and organizing these types of sources. As with note-taking, there are many possibilities beyond this list -- these are just a few suggestions.

As a note: it's generally a good idea to save screenshots of web sources that may be temporary, especially social media posts, since they can be deleted, edited or taken down at any time! 

Recommended:

Other Options: 

And of course, you can also organize saved files in programs/apps like...