HIST 200: Historian's Craft (Rupakheti): Collect & Cite Research

Basics of Chicago Style:

If you are unsure, check with your professor. Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes. 
Need more help? Use the resources listed in the Chicago Citation Help box below. 

book with a single author or editor

First footnote: Mary Shepherd Slusser, Nepal Mandala: A Cultural Study of the Kathmandu Valley (Mandala Book Point, 1998), 10. 

Second footnote:  Slusser, Nepal Mandala, 10. 

Bibliography: Slusser, Mary Shepherd. Nepal Mandala: A Cultural Study of the Kathmandu Valley. Mandala Book Point, 1998. 

journal article from online database

First footnote: Ajapa Sharma, "Deserting Gurkhas: Sovereign Claims, Extradition and Migration Between India and Nepal (1885-1925)," Studies in Nepali History and Society 28, no. 2 (2023): 282, SocINDEX.

Second footnote: Sharma, "Deserting Gurkhas," 282.

Bibliography: Sharma, Ajapa. "Deserting Gurkhas: Sovereign Claims, Extradition and Migration Between India and Nepal (1885-1925)." Studies in Nepali History and Society 28, no. 2 (2023): 281-312. SocINDEX.

newspaper article from online database

First footnote: "Factionalism in Nepal," The London Times, Apr 13, 1954, London Times Digital Archive.

Second footnote: "Factionalism in Nepal."

Bibliography:  "Factionalism in Nepal." The London Times, Apr 13, 1954. London Times Digital Archive.

Notetaking:
 

It's very important to keep track of your resources and findings throughout your research process. There are many ways to do this -- the most important thing is to find a process that works for you, and that allows you to share your findings with others. 

Whatever your process, make sure that you find a way to: 

1. Keep track of which notes (and especially quotations) came from which source;
2. Note detailed directions like page numbers, where included, so that you can find the information again later; and
3. Record all of the information needed to cite each source that you consult, even if you aren't sure yet whether you will use it. 
    

​Sample Methods of Research Notetaking