Skip to Main Content
     

A Guide To...Medicine and Health Studies: Internet Web Sites

Internet Web Sites

Links to Internet web sites and databases of professional associations, organizations (Tips on using Internet Sources):

  • Antique Medical Equipment - pictures and descriptions of surgical equipment used during the 1600's and 1800's by Alex Peck.
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - AHRQ is the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality—the Nation's lead Federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. (https://www.ahrq.gov/data/index.html)
  • Art of Medicine at the 21st Century - show the human side of medicine through images of these physicians at work in their research laboratories, by their patients' bedside, in the operating room, and at conference and studies, but now aided with new knowledge.
  • BioResearch Open Access is a bimonthly, peer-reviewed, open access journal for a broad range of scientific topics including molecular and cellular biology, tissue engineering and biomaterials, bioengineering, regenerative medicine, stem cells, gene therapy, systems biology, genetics, biochemistry, virology, microbiology, and neuroscience.
  • Center for Disease Control and Prevention - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, agency for conducting and supporting public health activities.
  • CenterWatch Drug Directories - list of FDA approved drugs, New Medical Therapies™ (NMT) reports, drug-related information.
  • Clinical Trials Database - federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted worldwide.
  •  Consumer Reports Health.org - A Consumer Reports Health Guide providing free information about health care and health care reform.
  • Grants.gov - find and apply for federal grants.
  • Health & Medical Care Archive (https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/content/HMCA/index.html )
  • HealthData.gov (https://healthdata.gov/search/type/dataset)
  • Health, United States, with Chartbook - annual report on trends in health statistics.
  • Highwire Press - mixture of free and pay per view full text articles on science related topics.
  • History of Medicine - Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
  • Influenza (Flu) Evidence-Based Information Portal - "Due to Pandemic H1N1 Influenza and concerns about the 2009/2010 flu season, the EBSCO Publishing Medical and Nursing editors of DynaMed™, Nursing Reference Center™ (NRC) and Patient Education Reference Center™ (PERC) have made key influenza information from these resources freely available to health care providers worldwide."
  • International Network of Integrative Mental Health - INIMH is a global 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization to advance an integrative whole person approach to mental health through education, research, networking and advocacy.
  • Mass General's Literature & Medicine:  Humanities at the Heart of Health Care:  Originally developed by the Maine Humanities Council, Humanities at the Heart of Health Care is a workplace program for healthcare providers to enrich their working relationships and strengthen their sense of common purpose.  Using the medium of literature, the providers reflect on their roles in health care with a scholar who facilitates group discussions of works based on caring for people.
  • Mass Humanities' Literature & Medicine:  Humanities at the Heart of Health Care:  Originally developed by the Maine Humanities Council, Humanities at the Heart of Health Care is a workplace program for healthcare providers to enrich their working relationships and strengthen their sense of common purpose.  Using the medium of literature, the providers reflect on their roles in health care with a scholar who facilitates group discussions of works based on caring for people.
  • Medical Imagery - Every Day Miracles: Medical Imagery Ex-Votos - Ex-Votos are a personalized expression of thanks for a healing or a restoration of health and were popular from the 15th century through the 19th century. Their purpose has expanded to include the commemoration of a special event or to address a concern in an individual's life. Ex-votos continue to be a reflection of a tradition where faith and healing play a vital role in daily life.
  • Medical Library Association - MLA is a nonprofit, educational organization of more than 1,100 institutions and 3,600 individual members in the health sciences information field, committed to educating health information professionals, supporting health information research, promoting access to the world's health sciences information, and working to ensure that the best health information is available to all.
  • Medline Plus -An online guide from the National Institutes of Health on diseases, conditions, hospitals, physicians, a medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, and prescription and nonprescription drug information."
  • Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy - resource for health care workers, arranged by organ systems and categories of diseases, with useful facts, figures and rules of thumb.
  • Merck Manual of Geriatrics - survey of the many health care professions involved in geriatrics, plus categories of diseases, accidents, and adverse life events
  • Merck Manual of Medical Information - survey of general medical topics, followed by overviews of diseases affecting various organ symptoms. Useful appendixes include a directory of major charitable disease support groups.
  • Mysterious Human Heart - a three-part PBS series by David Grubin concentrating on the replacement heart, anatomy of a pacemaker, and myths & mysconceptions.  The site also includes information on the history of cardiology, the anatomy of the heart using a three-dimensional model, and a "Healthy Heart Guide" with tips for staying fit.
  • National Center for Health Statistics - statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people.
  • National Institutes of Health - Part of the United States Department of Health & Human Services, the NIH's mission is to "foster fundamental creative discoveries, innovative research strategies, and their applications as a basis to advance significantly the Nation's capacity to protect and improve health."
  • Obesity and Depression - a 53 minute video on Public Health:  Obesity and Depression presented by Sherry Pagoto, Science Boot Camp, June 2013, University of Massachusetts/Amherst
  • Opposing Cardiometabolic Disease - a 1 hour video on Public Health:  Opposing Cardiometabolic Disease presented by Barry Braun, Science Boot Camp, June 2013, University of Massachusetts/Amherst
  • Orange Book - "Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations (the List), identifies drug products approved on the basis of safety and effectiveness by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the Act)."
  • OSHA: Occupational Safety & Health Administration - Provides valuable information on occupational safety and job related issues.
  • Physicians' Committee for Responsible Medicine (PCRM) - a group of 150,000 health care professionals and concerned citizens advocating for preventive medicine, especially good nutrition,  and a higher standard of ethical research.
  • Public Health - a 49 minute video providing an overview of public health presented by Stephenie Lemon, Science Boot Camp, June 2013, University of Massachusetts/Amherst
  • Public Library of Science - PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource.
  • PubMed Central - "The US National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Access to the full text of articles in PMC is free, except where a journal requires a subscription for access to recent articles." 
  • Renfrew Organization - The Renfrew Center Foundation is a tax-exempt, nonprofit organization advancing the education, prevention, research, and treatment of eating disorders. We advance our mission by: Providing professional training and educational opportunities for mental health and medical professionals, creating awareness in the general public through the production of educational seminars and publications and participation in media-related activities, conducting research into the pathology and recovery patterns of people with eating disorders, educating policy makers to remove barriers to treatment, and providing assistance for women and girls.
  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) - the largest public health philanthropy focusing on health policy, prevention, research, and leadership to improve the health and healthcare of all Americans, especially the underserved.
  • ScienceDaily - providing the latest research news (news reports, articles, books, and videos) in health and medicine.
  • UMass Medical School International Stem Cell Registry - The mission of the University of Massachusetts International Stem Cell Registry is to provide a searchable, comprehensive database that includes published and validated unpublished information on all human embryonic (hESC) and induced pluripotent (iPS) stem cell lines. 
  • United States Food and Drug Administration Research -  provides leadership on food, agriculture, natural resources, and related issues based on sound public policy, the best available science, and efficient management.