LibGuides: A Guide To...Biology: Find Statistics and Data

Suggested Databases

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Visualization, reporting and downloads of U.S. Census Data.
Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
Downloadable data files, documentations, and data-based research related to a wide range of social science areas. Guide to Searching ICPSR

Sources for Data & Statistics

REPLICATION DATA

While it is not possible to include an entire dataset with the text of an article, many researchers are sharing their data online so that other researchers can use the data for their own research.

Here are some places to look for replication data:

Dataverse Network for publishing, sharing, referencing, extracting and analyzing research data. Developed at Harvard University by the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS).
Websites of scholarly associations For example, the American Economic Association provides links to sites that archive data from economic journals and the The Econometric Society includes data in supplemental material.
Metadata Search from DataCite allows you to search datasets from a wide range of subject areas
Websites of authors and other researchers. They may have posted datasets on their site.
Websites of journals. Some journals provide access to the datasets used by the authors of articles appearing in the journal. For example the Journal of Peace Research.

CENSUS DATA

CRIMINAL JUSTICE DATA

CHILDREN & FAMILIES

IMMIGRATION

Immigration Data (Department of Homeland Security)

RELIGION

ARDA: American Religion Data Archive

ECONOMICS & FINANCE

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window

EDUCATION

ENVIRONMENTAL DATA

Environmental Data (EPA)

HEALTH

INTERNATIONAL DATA

International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window

International Programs Data (from the U.S. Census Bureau)

Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window

PUBLIC OPINION & ELECTION STUDIES

STATE & CITY DATA

Suggested Sources for Biomedical & Life Sciences Data

Many thanks to Kelsey Sawyer and Hope Lappen of Brown University Library for inspiration with this list of resources. https://libguides.brown.edu/c.php?g=545426&p=3741199

General Life Sciences Data

Data.gov
Dryad
A digital repository for scholarly research data. All datasets are free to download and reuse under a CC0 license. Search by keyword or browse by place, topic, or journal name.
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
A list of data repositories and resources, maintained by the NIH.

Ecology & Evolutionary Biology Data

COL | The Catalogue of Life
"The most complete authoritative list of the world's species - maintained by hundreds of global taxonomists"
Data Basin
"The core of Data Basin is free and provides open access to thousands of scientifically-grounded, biological, physical, and socio-economic datasets."
Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)
"GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and data infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth."
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
"[...]authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world."
NCBI Taxonomy
"[...] a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases."

Molecular Biology, Cell Biology & Biochemistry Data

European Bioinformatics Institute
Provides access to data and bioinformatics services.
Expasy
"Expasy is the bioinformatics resource portal of the SIB Swiss Institute of Bioinformatics [...] upporting a range of life science and clinical research domains, from genomics, proteomics and structural biology, to evolution and phylogeny, systems biology and medical chemistry."
Nucleotide
"The Nucleotide database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery."
Nucleic Acid Database
"The NDB contains information about experimentally-determined nucleic acids and complex assemblies.
Use the NDB to perform searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function, and to download, analyze, and learn about nucleic acids."
Protein Data Bank
"This resource is powered by the Protein Data Bank archive-information about the 3D shapes of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies that helps students and researchers understand all aspects of biomedicine and agriculture, from protein synthesis to health and disease."

Plant Data & Other Resources

Plant Model Organisms Database
"This provides a list of plant-specific model organism databases."
Grameme
Gramene is a curated, open-source, integrated data resource for comparative functional genomics in crops and model plant species.