POLS 299: International Law (Thomas): Sources for News and Statistics

Many newspaper and magazine articles can be found through a Google search, but you may find that the full text of the article is behind a paywall. Rather than pay a fee for an article, try the library's databases. The library has databases that provide full text access to a wide range of newspapers and magazines. 

The list below recommends databases for finding newspaper and magazine articles that have been published in recent years. The date coverage varies for each publication. Some publications cover the last thirty years or so while others cover fewer years. 

• ProQuest Central Coverage includes magazines and many local and national newspapers, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Use the facets to the right of your search results to limit to by Source Type to newspapers or magazines. 
• LexisNexis Academic All News Search  Includes coverage of newspapers all over the world, including the London Times and Washington Post. Use the facets or Advanced Search to limit to articles from a specific geographic region. For Editorials & Opinion pieces, go to All News and limit by Article Type.
• Academic Search Premier Coverage includes magazines and newspapers. Use the facets to the left of your search results to limit to by Source Type to newspapers or magazines.

The library also provides access to historial newspaper and periodical databases:

• New York Times Historical (1851-2003)
• London Times Digital Archive (1785-1985)