Spend some time brainstorming keywords and search terms. Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.
When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.
Do you have an article citation, but need to find the full-text article?
Three Steps to Finding the Full Text Article...
1. Check the Holy Cross Libraries' Catalog to find the journal in print or in electronic format by searching in the TITLE field for the name of the JOURNAL (not the article name): HC Catalog
2. If the catalog does not produce positive results, check the Electronic Journals A-Z List by searching for the Journal name (not the article name) in the "Find" box.
3. If the Electronic Journals A-Z list does not produce positive results, order the article through InterLibrary Loan.
ATLA Religion Database (coverage varies)
Religion Index One: 1949-present, Religion Index Two: Multi-author Works, 1960-present, Research in Ministry, 1981-present, Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present, Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-present.
BHA - Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts articles, art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs. Covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art).
JSTOR (Full Text: coverage varies)
JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I, II, and III collections provide full-text access to 394 major scholarly journals. Covers such areas as African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Political Science, Sociology, Population/Demography, Statistics, and more.
MLA - Modern Language Association
Consists of two databases, the MLA Bibliography and the MLA Directory of Periodicals. The Bibliography indexes more than 4,400 journals and series pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The Directory lists over 7,100 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. It provides addresses, advertising rates, and information about submissions for publication.
Philosopher's Index (1940-present)
Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language
Project Muse (Full Text: coverage varies)
Provides full-text journal articles from a variety of subject areas. To limit your search, select from the list of disciplines.
Academic Search Premier (Full Text: coverage varies)
A multidisciplinary database that offers indexing and abstracts for 7,100 journals
ProQuest Central (Full Text: coverage varies)
ProQuest Central is a large multidisciplinary full text database covering over 160 subjects areas including: business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Expanded Academic ASAP (Full Text: 1980-Present)
An interdisciplinary index to journals and national news magazines.
Provides electronic access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and much more.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Compiled by the Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1969-present) is the world's largest, continuously updated bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage including records in over 202 languages from 3,700 journals