NOTES
It's very important to keep track of your resources and findings throughout your research process. There are many ways to do this -- the most important thing is to find a process that works for you, and that allows you to share your findings with others.
Whatever your process, make sure that you find a way to:
CITATION MANAGERS
(for traditional, "published" sources)
Citation manager; collect, organize and format citations and footnotes in hundreds of styles. Available to current students, faculty and staff as well as alumni!
UNPUBLISHED/MEDIA SOURCES
For "non-traditional' sources like interviews, images, social media, websites, etc. -- traditional reference tools don't always work particularly well. However, there are other tools available which are better suited for storing and organizing these types of sources. As with note-taking, there are many possibilities beyond this list -- these are just a few suggestions.
As a note: it's generally a good idea to save screenshots of web sources that may be temporary, especially social media posts, since they can be deleted, edited or taken down at any time!
Suggestions:
And of course, you can also organize saved files in programs/apps like...
Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which uses footnotes for in-text citation.
Book with a single author or editor
First footnote:
Author Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Publisher, Date), page.
Amy D. Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America (Temple University Press, 2020), 10.
Second footnote:
Author Lastname, Abbreviated Title of Book, page.
Finstein, Modern Mobility Aloft, 10.
Bibliography:
Author Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Publisher, Date.
Finstein, Amy D. Modern Mobility Aloft: Elevated Highways, Architecture, and Urban Change in Pre-Interstate America. Temple University Press, 2020.
Journal article from an online database
First footnote:
Author Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Journal Title volume, no. issue (date): page, DOI link or URL or database.
Chanelle Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada," Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 10, https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Second footnote:
Author Lastname, "Abbreviated Title of Article," page.
Robinson, "'Papa Don't Preach,'" 10.
Bibliography:
Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article," Journal Title volume, no. issue (date): pages. DOI link or URL or database.
Robinson, Chanelle. "'Papa Don't Preach': Imagining a Theology of Apology in Canada." Toronto Journal of Theology 35, no.1 (2019): 9-24. https://doi.org/10.3138/tjt.2018-0120.
Online newspaper/magazine article
First footnote:
Author Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Newspaper, Month Day, Year, URL or database.
Edward T. O'Donnell, "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group," Washington Post, March 17, 2019, ProQuest Central.
Second footnote:
Author Lastname, "Abbreviated Title of Article."
O'Donnell, "Irish Immigrants."
Bibliography:
Author Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Newspaper, month day, year. URL or database.
O'Donnell, Edward T. "When Irish Immigrants Were America's Most Feared Terrorist Group." Washington Post, March 17, 2019. ProQuest Central.
Page from a website
First footnote:
"Page title," page creator, accessed month day, year, URL.
"Classics," College of the Holy Cross, accessed August 19, 2024, https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
Second footnote:
"Page title."
"Classics."
Bibliography:
Page creator. "Page title." Accessed month day, year. URL.
College of the Holy Cross. "Classics." Accessed August 19, 2024. https://www.holycross.edu/academics/programs/classics.
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (18th ed.)
