Using RefWorks: New References
After clicking the Add a Reference button (+), a drop-down menu will appear. You can choose to:
(a) Upload a document directly to your RefWorks account.
If you have a PDF copy of an article you would like to save, you can upload it into your RefWorks account. If the PDF is machine-readable, RefWorks will actually try to detect the citation information for the article for you. Check the citation information carefully, as RefWorks will sometimes guess wrong.
This replaces the feature in previous version of RefWorks that allowed you to attach a file to an existing citation. Instead, upload the file, then create new citation information that will be attached to the file in your RefWorks library.
(b) Import your references.
This can be from another citation manager (for example, an older version of RefWorks) or from a file that you have downloaded from a database or somewhere else. The references in the file will automatically be incorporated into your RefWorks Library.
See the Converting to ProQuest RefWorks page for more information about moving from your old RefWorks account to the new version of RefWorks.
(c) Manually add a reference.
Start by selecting the type of resource at the top of the screen. This tells RefWorks what pieces of information it should be collecting from you so that it can make a complete citation later. You can also add tags to help you organize and find the reference later, and check the Electronic Resource box if it is a digital rather than a print resource.
If you would like to add more information than is available on the first screen, click the Add more fields button at the bottom of the screen. You can choose from a pre-selected list of possible fields, or, start typing to create your own custom field.
Using RefWorks: Create a Bibliography
To begin, you need to tell RefWorks which sources need to be cited in your bibliography. RefWorks will default to using all of the references in whichever folder you currently have open. To change the folder you are viewing, click on the folder you want to use in the left-hand navigation bar. To use only some of the references in your folder, check the boxes next to the references to add them to your Selected list.
Once you have selected the references you would like to use, click the Create Bibliography (") button. You will see the following popup. Click Create bibliography to create a bibliography from scratch. You can also directly copy/insert citations from RefWorks into your open paper document by choosing Quick cite or Write N Cite.
Next, choose your Output Style -- what citation style should your bibliography be written in? RefWorks will auto-update your bibliography preview to match the style you have selected.
Once you have chosen a style, choose which references you would like to include in your bibliography. Again, RefWorks will auto-update your bibliography preview to include whichever references you have chosen.
| When you have finished setting up your bibliography, click Copy to Clipboard to copy the formatted references. You can then paste them into your paper. |
Don't forget to check your bibliography for accuracy, typos, etc. before handing it in!
Using RefWorks: Organizing Your References
In addition to using RefWorks to create bibliographies, you can also use it as a storage and organizing place for citations and documents you want to hold on to. This is particular useful for term projects, capstones, or other projects where you will be doing research on a topic over an extended period of time. It's also great for saving articles you want to return to later.
Organization in ProQuest RefWorks is accomplished through both Folders and Tags. These are a way of grouping your citations by topic, project you are working on, etc. You can create as many folders or tags as you want, and you can also create folders within folders.
FOLDERS
To view all folders in your account, use the My Folder section on the left navigation bar.
By clicking the three dots to the right of a specific folder, you can : add a subfolder; rename the folder; share the folder; or delete the folder.
To create a new Folder in RefWorks, you can:
(1) Use the Add a folder menu option underneath My Folders; or,
(2) When using the Add to folder menu for selected references, choose the + Create option at the bottom of the menu.
(1) |
(2)  |
TAGS
In ProQuest RefWorks, you can also use tags to make it easier to find references later. Some tags are pre-assigned or are imported from databases alongside your references; however, you can also add your own.
To add a tag to a reference or references, select the references you would like to tag. Then use the Assign Tags menu button. You can search for existing tags to use, or type to create your own.
You can also use the Tags section in the left-hand navigation bar to look for specific tags.
|
|
 |
DUPLICATE REFERENCES
It can be easy to accidentally accumulate duplicate references, especially if you are pulling research from multiple sources over time, or if an Export button in one of the databases malfunctions. RefWorks comes with a tool to help you identify and remove duplicates in your references library.
To begin, go to the More menu (shaped like 3 dots in a row), then choose Find duplicates.
RefWorks will give you the option to specify where to look for duplicates and how similar the duplicates should be to be flagged:
Once you click Find Duplicates, RefWorks will produce a list of the references that appear in your library multiple times. It will automatically highlight the duplicates in red and select them. To remove the selected duplicates, hit the Delete button in the top navigation bar.
