Special Types of Sources
For citing religious texts such as the Bible or documents issued by the Catholic Church:
Citation Resources
Citing in Society for Biblical Literature (SBL) Style:
Book with a single editor
Footnote: Martin J. Buss, ed., Encounter with the Text: Form and History in the Hebrew Bible. (Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1979), 5.
Bibliography: Buss, Martin J., ed. Encounter with the Text: Form and History in the Hebrew Bible. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1979.
Commentary with an author, editor and a translator
Footnote: Hans Conzelmann. 1 Corinthians: A Commentary on the First Epistle to the Corinthians, ed. George W. Macrae, trans. James W. Leitch (Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1975), 10.
Bibliography: Conzelmann, Hans. 1 Corinthians: A Commentary on the First Epistle to the Corinthians. Anchor Bible Commentary. Edited by George W. MacRae. Translated by James W. Leitch, Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1975.
E-Book with a single editor
Footnote: Daniel Durken, ed. New Collegevill Bible Commentary: Old Testament (Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 2015), https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4658991.
Bibliography: Durken, Daniel, ed. New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament. Collegeville, Minn.: Liturgical Press, 2015. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4658991
Footnote: James W. Barker, "Ancient Compositional Practices and the Gospels: A Reassessment," Journal of Biblical Literature 135.1 (2016), permalink goes here.
Bibliography: Barker, James W. "Ancient Compositional Practices and the Gospels: A Reassessment." Journal of Biblical Literature, 135.1 (2016): 109-121. permalink goes here.
SBL Style Resources:
The SBL Handbook of StyleCall Number: [E-Book]ISBN: 9781589839649Publication Date: 2014Also available in Dinand Reference for in-library use only [REF PN147 .S26 2014].
Citing in Chicago (Notes-Bibliography) Style:
Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes.
**The Chicago Manual of Style was updated to the 18th edition in September 2024**
Book with a single editor
Footnote: Martin J. Buss, ed., Encounter with the Text: Form and History in the Hebrew Bible (Fortress Press, 1979), 10.
Bibliography: Buss, Martin J., ed. Encounter with the Text: Form and History in the Hebrew Bible. Fortress Press, 1979.
Book with an author, editor and a translator
Footnote: Hans Conzelmann, 1 Corinthians: A Commentary on the First Epistle to the Corinthians, ed. George W. MacRae, trans. James W. Leitch (Fortress Press, 1975), 15.
Bibliography: Conzelmann, Hans. 1 Corinthians: A Commentary on the First Epistle to the Corinthians. Edited by George W. MacRae. Translated by James W. Leitch. Fortress Press, 1975.
E-Book with a single editor
Footnote: Daniel Durken, ed., New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament (Liturgical Press, 2015), 5, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4658991.
Bibliography: Durken, Daniel, ed. New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament. Liturgical Press, 2015. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4658991.
E-Book chapter with a chapter author and general editor
Footnote: Irene Nowell, "The Book of Tobit," in New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament, ed. Daniel Durken (Liturgical Press, 2015), 581, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/reader.action?docID=4658991&ppg=580.
Bibliography: Nowell, Irene. "The Book of Tobit." In New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament, edited by Daniel Durken. Liturgical Press, 2015. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/holycrosscollege-ebooks/reader.action?docID=4658991&ppg=580.
Journal article from an online database
Footnote: James W. Barker, "Ancient Compositional Practices and the Gospels; A Reassessment." Journal of Biblical Literature 135, no. 1 (2016): 115, Academic Search Premier.
Bibliography: Barker, James W. "Ancient Compositional Practices and the Gospels: A Reassessment." Journal of Biblical Literature 135, no. 1 (2016): 109-121. Academic Search Premier.
Chicago Style Resources:
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Dinand Reference; Music Reference; Science Reference
Citing in MLA Style:
Book with a single editor
Buss, Martin J., editor. Encounter with the Text: Form and History in the Hebrew Bible. Fortress, 1979.
Book with an author, editor and a translator
Conzelmann, Hans. 1 Corinthians: A Commentary on the First Epistle to the Corinthians. Translated by James W. Leitch, edited by George W. MacRae. Fortress, 1975.
E-Book with a single editor
Durken, Daniel, editor. New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament. Liturgical, 2015. ProQuest Ebook Central.
E-Book chapter with a chapter author and general editor
Nowell, Irene. "The Book of Tobit." New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament, edited by Daniel Durken, Liturgical, 2015, pp. 580-595. ProQuest Ebook Central.
Journal article from an online database
Barker, James W. "Ancient Compositional Practices and the Gospels: A Reassessment." Journal of Biblical Literature, vol.135, no. 1, 2016, 109-121. Academic Search Premier, permalink goes here.
MLA Style Resources:
Citing in APA Style:
Book with a single editor
Buss, M.J., ed. (1979). Encounter with the text: Form and history in the Hebrew Bible. Fortress Press.
Book with an author, editor and a translator
Conzelmann, H. (1975). 1 Corinthians: A Commentary on the First Epistle to the Corinthians (J.W. Leith, trans. & G.W. MacRae, ed.). Fortress Press.
E-Book with a single editor
Durken, D., ed. (2015). New Collegeville Bible commentary: Old Testament. Liturgical Press.
E-Book chapter with a chapter author and general editor
Nowell, I. (2015). The Book of Tobit. In D. Durken (Ed.), New Collegeville Bible Commentary: Old Testament (pp.580-595). Liturgical Press.
Journal article from an online database
Barker, J.W. (2016). Ancient compositional practices and the Gospels: A reassessment." Journal of Biblical Literature 135 (1): 109-121.
APA Style Resources:
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed.Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020Publication Date: 2019Available in Dinand, Music and Science Library Reference.
