Getting Started: Find Books and Articles in CrossSearch
Suggested Reference Books
Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia (ebook version) by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781136771620Publication Date: 2002-12-30
Medieval Iberia by Call Number: Dinand Reference DP99 +M33 2003ISBN: 0415939186Publication Date: 2002-12-30
Historia general de las literaturas hispánicasCall Number: Dinand Reference PQ6032 .D5 v.1 c.1- Diccionario medieval español by Call Number: Dinand Reference PC4715.Z5 A465 1986 t.1
- The Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature by Call Number: Dinand Reference PQ6006 .O93ISBN: 0198661142Publication Date: 1978-08-31
Castilian Writers, 1200-1400 by Call Number: Dinand Reference PN451 .D54 v.337ISBN: 9780787681555Publication Date: 2007-10-03
Map of the Dinand Stacks
Books at Dinand Library are arranged by Library of Congress Call Number.
- Reference books are in the Main Reading Room.
- Call numbers A through G are on the upper (Mezzanine) level.
- Call numbers H through Z are on the lower (Ground) level (with a few exceptions).
- Oversize books (with a "+" in the call number) are shelved at the end of the normal section for that letter.
 |
Dinand Mezzanine Level |
 |
Dinand Ground Level |
Search Literature Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, books and dissertations focusing on literature and literary criticism, language, and publishing.
- HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, book reviews, and literary works about Central and South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinx in the United States.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
- Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, reviews, books, and other sources about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
- Dialnet PortalDiscover citations for articles and books, as well as and some full-text access to Spanish language journals and theses in a variety of disciplines.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography Online This link opens in a new window
Biographies of and essays on influential literary figures.
- Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
A compilation of commentary essays on literary works, including drama, poetry, and short stories, from the 15th through 20th centuries
Tracing a Journal Citation
If you already have the citation information for an article, don't use the databases -- you can track it down directly through the eJournals portal!
All the information that you will need is in this citation. You can find some tips for using the eJournals portal here. Can't find the journal in eJournals? Check the catalog to see if we have a paper copy in the library:
E-Journals
In addition to searching the research databases listed here, you may also want to try searching in specific subject specific journals. Search Holy Cross' EJournal list here.
-
Cervantes: Bulletin of the Cervantes society of AmericaEjournal access for Romance Notes goes back to 2001. For articles published before 2001, the journal is in print in Dinand, call number PQ6337 .A26.
-
ChasquiEjournal access for Chasqui goes back to 2000. For articles published before 2000, the journal is in print in Dinand, call number PQ6001 +C48.
-
HispanófilaOnline access covers 2003-Present. Volumes published between 1983 and 2014 are available in print, call number PQ6001 .H68
-
Romance NotesEjournal access for Romance Notes goes back to 2004. For articles published before 2004, the journal is in print in Dinand, call number PN801 .R75.
Print Journals
While many journal articles are available online, keep in mind that some journal are only available in print. You'll find relevant print journals in the call number range PQ6001 - PQ8929.
The journals listed below are available only in print. The MLA International Bibliography database indexes these journals so article citations from these journals will be included in your MLA search results. You can then use the citation information to locate the article in Dinand.
-
Hispamérica: Revista de LiteraturaCall number PQ7081.A1 H57
-
Revista Canadiense de Estudios HispánicosCall number PQ6001 .R44
-
Revista de Estudios HispánicosCall number PQ6001 .R443
-
Revista de crítica literaria latinoamericanaCall number PQ7081.A1 R33
Journal volumes cannot be checked out from Dinand, but you'll be able to scan the pages of any article that you'd like to read for your research. There are two book scanners on the first floor fo Dinand.