McFarland Center for Religion, Ethics and Culture - November 15 - 17, 2017
November 15 - 17 Conference — This conference, co-sponsored with Religious Studies, is a prelude to the American Academy of Religion annual meeting, which will be held in Boston this year on November 18-21. Most of our conference speakers will also be presenting at AAR. The conference will examine the impact of religion on various social and political movements organized around six themes — nationalism, immigration, race, gender, ecological concern, and economics. Learn more>>
Image from elPadawan via Flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/elpadawan/16701881932/in/photolist-rrTvBA
Books in the HC Libraries Collections
Our Black Sons Matter Mothers by
"Our Black Sons Matter is a powerful collection of original essays, letters, and poems that addresses both the deep joys and the very real challenges of raising black boys today. From Trayvon Martin to Tamir Rice, the list of young black men who have suffered racial violence continues to grow. Young black people also deal with profound stereotypes and structural barriers. And yet, young black men are often paradoxically revered as icons of cultural cool. Our Black Sons Matter features contributions from women across the racial spectrum who are raising or have raised black sons--whether biologically their sons or not. The book courageously addresses painful trauma, challenges assumptions, and offers insights and hope through the deep bonds between mothers and their children. Both a collective testimony and a collective love letter, Our Black Sons Matter sends the message that black lives matter and speaks with the universal love of all mothers who fear for the lives of their children."--Provided by publisher.
Call Number: Dinand - E185.86 .O85 2016ISBN: 9781442269118Publication Date: 2016-10-17
Interfaith Dialogue by Call Number: Dinand - BX1787 .F58 2006ISBN: 157075652XPublication Date: 2006-04-01Recognizing the Latino Resurgence in U. S. Religion by
Call Number: Dinand - BR563.H57 D53ISBN: 0813325099Publication Date: 1997-11-27
World Religions and Contemporary Issues by Call Number: Dinand - BL80.3 .H56 2013ISBN: 9781585959136Publication Date: 2013-05-06
Routledge Handbook of Religion and Ecology by
The Routledge Handbook of Religion and Ecology provides the most comprehensive and authoritative overview of the field. Written by a team of leading international experts, the Handbook discusses dynamics of change within religious traditions as well as their roles in responding to global challenges such as climate change, water, conservation, food and population. It explores the interpretations of indigenous traditions regarding modern environmental problems drawing on such concepts as lifeway and indigenous knowledge. This volume uniquely intersects the field of religion and ecology with new directions within the humanities and the sciences. The sections on environmental humanities and environmental sciences explore the history and significance of other key areas and disciplines of environmental studies in which religion and ecology can be fruitfully located as a dialogue partner for environmental solutions
Call Number: Dinand - BL65.E36 R68 2017ISBN: 9781138789579Publication Date: 2016-07-26
eBooks in the HC Libraries Collections
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation by
The eruption of mass protests in the wake of the police murders of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri and Eric Garner in New York City have challenged the impunity with which officers of the law carry out violence against Black people and punctured the illusion of a postracial America. The Black Lives Matter movement has awakened a new generation of activists. In this stirring and insightful analysis, activist and scholar Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor surveys the historical and contemporary ravages of racism and persistence of structural inequality such as mass incarceration and Black unemployment. In this context, she argues that this new struggle against police violence holds the potential to reignite a broader push for Black liberation.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781608465637Publication Date: 2016-02-01Violent Trauma, Culture, and Power by This book is an interdisciplinary exploration of the intertwining impact of violent trauma, culture, and power through case studies of two ministries serving in different demographic contexts within the United States. Mass shootings continue to rise in the United States, including in religious and school contexts, and the U.S. also is ground zero for the now international Black Lives Matter movement. The author shows how all forms of violent trauma impact more than individuals –devastating communal relationships and practices of religious or spiritual meaning-making in the aftermath, and assesses how these impacts differ according to lived experiences with culture and power. Looking at the two ministries, an urban grassroots lay ministry organization that serves surviving family members in the aftermath of homicide, and a denominational ministry that served a church in the aftermath of a political and religiously motivated shooting, the author develops trauma-specific interdisciplinary tools for lived religion studies.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783319417721Publication Date: 2016-11-23
Occupy Religion by
Occupy Religion introduces readers to the growing role of religion in the Occupy Movement and asks provocative questions about how people of faith can work for social justice. From the temperance movement to the Civil Rights movement, churches have played key roles in important social movements, and Occupy Religion shows this role is no less critical today.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781442217935Publication Date: 2012-10-01
Violence, Religion, Peacemaking by
This volume explores how religious leaders can contribute to cultures of peace around the world. The essays are written by leading and emerging scholars and practitioners who have lived, taught, or worked in the areas of conflict about which they write. Connecting the theory and practice of religious peacebuilding to illuminate key challenges facing interreligious dialogue and interreligious peace work, the volume is explicitly interreligious, intercultural, and global in perspective. The chapters approach religion and peace from the vantage point of security studies, sociology, ethics, ecology, theology, and philosophy.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781137568519Publication Date: 2016-07-22
The Gülen Movement by
This is one of the first academic books about Fethullah Gülen, a Turkish scholar and preacher, and the civic movement he inspired in Turkey and ultimately throughout the world. The movement is rooted in moderate Islam and is committed to educating youth, fostering interfaith and intercultural dialog, assisting the needy in society and contributing to global peace. Based on interview data and visits to Gülen-inspired institutions, the book describes the movement from a sociological perspective, especially through the lens of social movement theory. It is the first book, grounded in empirical methodology, to describe the movement to a Western audience. It will be of special interest to social scientists interested in religious movements, religious scholars seeking information on Islamic movements and the general public eager to discover a moderate Islam that promotes humanitarian projects.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781402098949Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Journal Articles in the HC Libraries Collections
Putting the "Fun" in Fundamentalism: Religious Nationalism and the Split Self at Hindutva Summer Camps in the United States. by
Some Hindu immigrants to America - those who subscribe to Hindutva values - desire full rights and recognition in their adopted homeland even as they simultaneously demand that so-called "migrants" to India (that is, Muslims and Christians whose communities have flourished in India for hundreds of years) acquiesce to their vision of India as a "Hindu state." In an American racial landscape that structurally privileges whites, I argue that the cultural categorization of Hindu immigrants into a "lesser-than-whites" minority has only served to fuel the growth of Hindu supremacist groups in the United States. In this article, I draw on fieldwork with two Hindu American summer camps in order to show that some Hindu immigrants misrecognize and repress their own current alienation in a manner that has subsequently aggravated latent antipathies towards Muslim and Christian communities in India.
Call Number: Journal Article- Muslim diasporas and their framing(s): Muslim migration rethought. by
Different branches of anthropological inquiry that have focused on Muslim populations in the Global South, have tended to treat Islam as something like an independent variable. This is true of both those concerned with social structure and those which focused on social signs - each has often treated Muslims as either derivative of a monolithic Islam or as the sites of readable gestures. In The Bengal Diaspora: Rethinking Muslim Migration, the authors move us on from these tendencies through multidisciplinary and historical inquiry, in ways that always grasp the real life embodiments through which Muslim diasporas are forged and re-forged.
Call Number: Journal Article
- Globalizing Korean queers ? Project L(esbian) , the first exhibition of lesbian arts in South Korea. by
This paper deals with the influence ofqueerand visual culture in South Korea by concentrating on the example ofProject L, the first exhibition organized by self-proclaimed lesbian artists and curators in South Korea in 2005, followed by the group's second exhibition,Gender Spectrum, in 2008. Conflicts between the dominant curatorial approach toward feminist arts and the identity politics of theProject Lteam are investigated in order to illustrate major theoretical predicaments in which lesbian activists and artists find themselves in feminist organizations and art exhibitions in Korea. As the title “Globalizing Korean Queer” suggests, this paper also examines contradictory circumstances related to the influence of queer theory in non-western countries. A close analysis ofGender Spectrumsheds light upon how a non-western lesbian group utilizes queer theory to understand the distinctive cultural conditions underlying homophobia, beyond merely importing “advanced” theories from the west
Call Number: Journal Article
- Gender, race and religion: Intersections and challenges. by
In this themed issue of Ethnic and Racial Studies a selection of papers that address the intersections between gender relations, race and religion in our contemporary environment has been brought together. The papers are linked by a common concern to analyze from both a conceptual and a policy angle the interface between gender and other situated social relationships. A brief review of the papers appearing in this edition is provided.
Call Number: Journal Article
- Postsecularity, Political Resistance, and Protest in the Occupy Movement by
This paper examines and critically interprets the interrelations between religion and the Occupy movements of 2011. It presents three main arguments. First, through an examination of the Occupy Movement in the UK and USA-and in particular of the two most prominent Occupy camps (Wall Street and London Stock Exchange)-the paper traces the emergence of postsecularity evidenced in the rapprochement of religious and secular actors, discourses, and practices in the event-spaces of Occupy. Second, it examines the specific set of challenges that Occupy has posed to the Christian church in the UK and USA, arguing that religious participation in the camps served at least in part to identify wider areas of religious faith that are themselves in need of redemption. Third, the paper considers the challenges posed by religious groups to Occupy, not least in the emphasis on postmaterial values in pathways to resistance against contemporary capitalism.
Call Number: Journal Article
This guide originally created by Helen O'Hara, Library Intern, in November 2017