Chicago Citation Help (Notes-Bibliography Style)
*Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes.
If you are not sure which version of Chicago you should be using, consult with your professor. *
Book with a single author or editor
Footnote: Susan Walker, ed., Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt (New YOrk: Routledge, 2000), 10.
Bibliography: Walker, Susan, ed. Ancient Faces: Mummy Portraits from Roman Egypt. New York: Routledge, 2000.
Journal article from an online database
Footnote: Dominic Montserrat, "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits,'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79 (1993): 220, https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Bibliography: Montserrat, Dominic. "The Representation of Young Males in 'Fayum Portraits.'" The Journal of Egyptian Archaeology, 79 (1993): 215-25. https://doi.org/10.2307/3822166.
Newspaper article from an online database
Footnote: Alan Riding, "Under the Probing Gaze of the Egyptian Dead," New York Times, April 26,1997, ProQuest New York Times Historical.
Bibliography: Riding, Alan. "Under the Probing Gaze of the Egyptian Dead." New York Times, April 26, 1997. ProQuest New York Times Historical.
Page from a website
Footnote: Rachel Sabino, "Gilding the Dead: Mummy Portraits in Roman Egypt," Art Institute Chicago, last modified October 23, 2019, https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.
Bibliography: Sabino, Rachel. "Gilding the Dead: Mummy Portraits in Roman Egypt." Art Institute Chicago. Last modified October 23, 2019. https://www.artic.edu/articles/767/gilding-the-dead-mummy-portraits-in-roman-egypt.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Guide to writing and citing in Chicago Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)Call Number: Z253 .U69 2017Publication Date: 2017Dinand Reference; Music Reference; Science Reference
The Basics
Most History courses in Holy Cross will require you to cite sources using the Notes-Bibliography Chicago style. If you are unsure, check with your professor. Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes. Below are a few examples of citations for primary sources in Chicago Style.
Need more help? Use the resources listed in the Chicago Citation Help box below. For the most detailed information, we recommend consulting the print Chicago Manual or Chicago Manual of Style online (links below). The Chicago manual offers detailed examples for almost any kind of primary source you can think of!
Using a different citation style? See our Citing Your Sources guide and choose the page for the appropriate style.
Book with a single author
Footnote: Linus H. Shaw, The War, and Its Cause: A Sermon Preached at Sudbury, Mass., on Thanksgiving Day, Nov 21, 1861, at a Union Meeting of the Religious Societies of the Town (Waltham, Press of Josiah Hastings, 1861), p. 10.
Bibliography: Shaw, Linus H. The War, and Its Cause: A Sermon Preached at Sudbury, Mass., on Thanksgiving Day, Nov 21, 1861, at a Union Meeting of the Religious Societies of the Town. Waltham: Press of Josiah Hastings, 1861
Published correspondence
Footnote: Grant to McPherson, 1 July 1863. In The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, ed. John Y. Simon (Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1979), 8:200.
Bibliography: Grant, Ulysses S. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant to Gen. James B. McPherson, 1 July 1863. In The Papers of Ulysses S. Grant, edited by John Y. Simon, vol. 8. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1979.
Newspaper article found online
Footnote: George Kilmer, "Crisis on Round-Top," Gettysburg Compiler, September 15, 1896, https://news.google.com/newspapers?id=nOIyAAAAIBAJ&sjid=1QAGAAAAIBAJ&pg=6532%2C1049003
Bibliography: Kilmer, George. "Crisis on Round-Top." Gettysburg Compiler, September 15, 1896.
https://news.google.com/newspapers?id=nOIyAAAAIBAJ&sjid=1QAGAAAAIBAJ&pg=6532%2C1049003