Articles for discussion
Weber, R. (2017). Tracing Transatlantic Circles: Manufacturing Cosmopolitanism in Music and Literature during the Late Nineteenth Century. Journal Of Musicological Research, 36(1), 84-112. doi:10.1080/01411896.2016.1261590
Leslie, V. (2017). Fallen Women. History Today, 67(1), 35-38.
CrossSearch - Find Everything
Visit the Libraries' homepage to try our discovery tool, CrossSearch.
CrossSearch provides a single starting point for your research by collecting most of our research resources -- the catalog, research databases, open-access journals and more -- behind a single search box. Once you have begun to search CrossSearch, you can fine tune your results to focus on specific types of resources, publication dates, subject areas, and more.
What is CrossSearch?
CrossSearch is a tool that allows users to simultaneously search the Holy Cross Libraries' collections and includes:
- books, ebooks, archival materials, media and music scores owned by the Holy Cross Libraries.
- research databases like Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, ARTstor and ProQuest Central.
- e-journal collections like JSTOR and ScienceDirect.
- the Holy Cross digital repository CrossWorks.
- Open Access collections such as HaithiTrust Digital Library.
Using CrossSearch
By default, CrossSearch retrieves items in the Holy Cross Libraries' collections that match your search terms. To expand your results, uncheck "Catalog & Full Text Only" on the results screen. If you discover an item we do not have access to, you may need to place an interlibrary loan request.
More Resources
Not everything owned by the Holy Cross Libraries is included in CrossSearch. You may wish to search individual research databases using our Research Databases list.
We'd love to hear your thoughts on our new CrossSearch. Submit your feedback via the online form.
Building Your Search
Here are some general tips to guide you in choosing your search terms:
- Use keywords or brief (2-word) phrases instead of sentences -- one or two for each part of your topic.
- Use concepts and other nouns as your keywords. Think of words that are likely to be used in titles (or that you have seen in titles).
- Examples:
Iraq War and United States - Try also: American involvement and Iraq - Try also: American involvement and war
Austen and landscape - Try also: Austen and architecture - Try also: Literature and interior