CrossSearch is a tool that allows users to simultaneously search the Holy Cross Libraries' collections and includes:
CrossSearch retrieves items in the Holy Cross Libraries' collections that match your search terms. You can find even more results not owned by Holy Cross by unchecking the "Holy Cross Libraries Collection" under the LIMIT TO heading on the left side of the search results screen. If we don't own an item, you may need to place an interlibrary loan request.
Project Gutenberg is a free, online resources which is a great tool for searching the full-text of many long novels. It is one of the longest-running sites for free eBooks and now includes close to 7,000 books, all in the public domain (that is, published before 1923 and thus no longer in copyright). All Project Gutenberg books are free to view and download. Each book may be available in a number of different formats ranging from text files to PDFs and Kindle books (EPUB).
A repository of digitized books drawn from the Internet Archive.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a repository of digitized books drawn from major research libraries in the United States. The library contains millions of books of all different dates and subjects. Certain parts of the collection are restricted, but many books are free online.
Like Project Gutenberg, Google Book Search allows you to search the full text of many public domain works. Use the Advanced Search to limit by different criteria, such as author.
WorldCat is union catalog containing millions of records from thousands of libraries worldwide. It is an excellent starting point for finding resources for request through Interlibrary Loan.