Contact CrossWorks
Send an email to crossworks@holycross.edu to contact the Digital Archives Team:
Lenora Robinson, Digital Initiatives Archivist
Rachel Green, Digital Collections Specialist
Archives & Distinctive Collections
Dinand Library
508-793-3509
Institutional Repositories
An institutional repository (IR) is the managed collection of intellectual output from a community, which is published electronically and often in an Open Access platform. The intellectual output can range from papers to journal articles to theses to data sets to an image of visual art to a video. There are really no limits to what can be put in an institutional repository.
Acknowledgement
Grateful acknowledgement is made to Michaela Keating from Merrimack College for permission to borrow ideas and copy from her LibGuide, Merrimack Scholarworks.
What is CrossWorks?
CrossWorks is the institutional repository of the College of the Holy Cross. It is used to
- Collect, preserve and provide open access to the intellectual and creative work of the Holy Cross Community
- Provide access to some of the unique materials in the College Archives and Distinctive Collections
- Increase visibility of scholarship and creative works
- Showcase departments, programs and student research
CrossWorks is an online space. Here's the link: http://crossworks.holycross.edu
CrossWorks is an open access platform of the Holy Cross Libraries. That means you don't have to pay to view or download items.
What are the benefits of contributing your work to CrossWorks?
- Increased visibility for your scholarship and creative works via Google and other internet search engines
- Preservation and access to content through a permanent URL
- Provide a link to your work in applications for graduate school or jobs
- Monthly download reports to monitor usage and citations to your work
- Meet the data-sharing requirement of some grant-funded research by publishing it in CrossWorks
- Learn more about intellectual property, copyright, and author rights
- Promotion of open access principles
- Scholarly communication depends on access to research
- Sharing your work encourages others to share
- Providing direct access to articles and other content for users around the globe improves opportunities for knowledge exchange
Items in CrossWorks are much more visible than those only available through a journal or library subscription. CrossWorks is designed to work with search engines like Google, which increases the discoverability of publications. The more accessible a publication is, the more readership and citations it ultimately receives.
For student or other previously unpublished works, CrossWorks provides a convenient publishing outlet. Each work is assigned a unique URL, which can be listed on CVs, resumes, applications, personal Web sites, etc.
Content in CrossWorks is downloaded by users around the world!