Spend some time brainstorming keywords and search terms. Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.
When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.
Do you have an article citation, but need to find the full-text article?
Three Steps to Finding the Full Text Article...
1. Check the Holy Cross Libraries' Catalog to find the journal in print or in electronic format by searching in the TITLE field for the name of the JOURNAL (not the article name): HC Catalog
2. If the catalog does not produce positive results, check the Electronic Journals A-Z List by searching for the Journal name (not the article name) in the "Find" box.
3. If the Electronic Journals A-Z list does not produce positive results, order the article through InterLibrary Loan.
Academic Search Premier (Full Text: coverage varies)
A multidisciplinary database that offers indexing and abstracts for 7,100 journals
JSTOR (Full Text: coverage varies)
An archive of scholarly journal articles from a variety of subject areas, including history.
MLA - Modern Language Association
Consists of two databases, the MLA Bibliography and the MLA Directory of Periodicals. The Bibliography indexes more than 4,400 journals and series pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. The Directory lists over 7,100 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.
Project Muse (Full Text: coverage varies)
Provides full-text journal articles from a variety of subject areas. To limit your search, select from the list of disciplines.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Description: Presents published criticism on the life and works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959.
Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism
Description: Presents overviews of authors (1800- 1899) with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author.
Description: The electronic edition of this standard print tool provides substantial critical essays and biographical information on the major poets from all eras. It is international in scope and provides users with a historical survey of the critical response to that author’s work over the years. Includes a primary bibliography and sources for additional reading.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
Description: Presents overviews of authors (1900- 1999) with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author.