Primary sources are first-hand witnesses to a historical event or period, created at that point in history. They offer a perspective untouched by hindsight, which can help us identify the actions, motivations and emotions involved in a historical event -- to understand history as it was experienced at the time rather than as we analyze it today.
With that said, remember that history is a relative term, and primary sources need not be "old" depending on the topic/perspective you are trying to understand! If you were doing a project on the rise of KPop Demon Hunters, newspaper articles published this morning could be a primary source. It's all about how you read the source.
Who(se Voices)?
Similarly to academic articles, there are some very general tools that you can use to search primary sources broadly. However, it is usually more productive to work out in advance....
Who do you want to hear from?
This could be...
or some combination of the above!
Where are They?
Next, figure out where your voices "live" in the historical record. For example:
Remember: not all perspectives are represented equally in the historical record!
Choose Your Tools!
Now, you need to determine where we have access to that part of the historical record.
Most primary source collections are categorized by...
For example, if you are hoping to find news reports on the March on Washington, not just any database will do! You need a resource that:
This page of the guide is designed to give you some starting points -- but you can also ask Jennifer or Prof. Robinson for a recommendation!
Search!
Analyze:
Newspapers & Magazines:
For even more options, visit: https://libguides.holycross.edu/newspapers
Local, national, and international news, including the Worcester Telegram & Gazette.
Date(s): 2000-present.
Access to articles, podcasts and more from Jesuit-run America Media, including America Magazine. **To access: Visit https://americamagazine.org/holycross, then create an account with your HC email address.
Date(s): 2018-present
News articles about the Asian American experience.
Date(s): 1976-present
News articles about the Black American experience.
Date(s): 1872-1993
Articles from the Boston Globe including all pictures and advertisements.
Date(s): 1909-1975
Articles from the Chicago Defender, a leading national Black newspaper.
Date(s): 1756-1963
Historic newspapers from all different U.S. states, hosted by the Library of Congress.
Date(s): 1880-2015
American and British magazines about film, music, broadcasting, and theatre, including fan magazines. Includes full issues from publications such as Billboard, The Hollywood Reporter, The Stage, Variety, and many more.
Date(s): 1800s-1900s
Spanish-language and bilingual (Spanish-English) U.S. newspapers.
Date(s): 2010-present
News articles about the Hispanic American experience.
Date(s): 1936-2000
Articles from Life Magazine, including all pictures and advertisements.
Date(s):1851-2021
Articles from the New York Times, including all pictures and advertisements.
Date(s):1923-2000
Articles from Time Magazine including all pictures and advertisements.
Legal & Government Documents:
A library of miscellaneous primary source collections.
Date(s): ~1750-present, but mainly 1850-present
Government documents, reports, court cases, and other primary sources relating to the history of civil rights in the U.S., accompanied by journal articles and books.
A library of legal resources including law journals; government, legal and diplomatic documents; books; reports; and historical sources.
Books, journal articles, and other resources on the relationship between various world religions, religious law, and systems of government.
Pamphlets, Correspondence, etc.
A library of miscellaneous primary source collections.
Date(s): Early 1800s - early 2000s
Primary sources by and about Black Americans.
Date(s): ~1400-1920
Primary sources from British Archives relating to the study and experience of gender.
Historical sources owned by libraries, museums and other institutions in the state of Massachusetts, browsable by topic, institution, format or location.
Date(s): ~1500-2000
Primary sources in English relating to empire building around the world and especially the British Empire.
Date(s): 1490-2008
Primary sources created by and about enslaved individuals and abolition movements.
Date(s): 1600-2000
Primary sources created by and about enslaved individuals and the practice of slavery around the world.
Personal Narratives:
A library of miscellaneous primary source collections.
Scanned books from major research libraries. Best for books published before 1928.
Date(s): 1600-2000
Primary sources created by and about enslaved individuals and the practice of slavery around the world.
...and of course:
Books in Dinand
Although we often think of primary sources as being located online, some primary sources can also be found in the library. This includes books published during the relevant time period as well as memoirs, collections of essays, and others.
When searching in the Library Catalog, used Advanced Search to choose a publication date range. When using CrossSearch, you can check the Catalog box on the left navigation bar to only search for items in the library catalog, then use the date slider to look at publication dates in your time period.
[A note on historical language]
Because the call number arrangement and subject headings used in the Library of Congress system are quite old, both the organization and the language used can sometimes be problematic. Librarians as a profession are working hard to change the way our information is organized -- but in the meantime, subject headings will help you find information filed under terminology we wouldn't typically use today.
It is important to recognize where the catalog may use outdated terminology, both to acknowledge, in our position as researchers, its shortfalls and inherent biases, AND to enable us to find the sources we are looking for.
Social Media:
Social media platforms can be a valuable resource for “primary sources” on ongoing phenomena. Believe it or not, there are even specific guidelines for citing social media as part of your research!
