April 2025: Catalina
Library Borrowing Options
Holy Cross Libraries
If you would like to get Catalina through Holy Cross Libraries, there are two options: Through our collection and through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). We have one print copy of the book. For additional print copies, we recommend using ILL or some of the other options on this page.
Catalina by Call Number: PS3603.O76453 C38 2024ISBN: 9780593449097Publication Date: 2024-07-23Catalina is trying to work out her own life as she leaves her undocumented family behind to enter Harvard. Suffering from bouts of PTSD, she struggles to connect to her new world just as she struggled to make sense of her old one. She infiltrates the subcultures of elite undergrads-internships and college newspapers, parties and secret societies-and observes them like an anthropologist, but then falls in love, or something like love, with a fellow student, an actual anthropology scholar who wants to teach her about the Andean world she was born in but never knew.
Interlibrary Loan
Follow the link below to your Interlibrary Loan account. If it is your first time using ILL, you will need to complete your account details. After that, look in the menu on the left side of the home screen for where it says "ILL Request." Click on "Book." You will see a form to enter in the book details. Enter the following details in the appropriate fields (rows that are highlighted are required/recommended for easier processing of your request):
| Authors/Editors | Karla Cornejo Villavicencio |
| Title | Catalina |
| Publisher | One World |
| Place of Publication | New York |
| Date of Publication | 2024 |
| Edition | |
| ISBN (International Standard Book Number) | 9780593449097 |
You will also need to choose a pick up location. This is a required field with a dropdown menu. Select "Pick-up in Dinand." Other fields can be left blank. Once you have filled out the form, click Submit Request. You will receive an email when the book is ready for you to pick up.
- Interlibrary Loan AccountFollow this link to your Interlibrary Loan account.
Boston Public Library eCard
All Massachusetts residents, including people who attend school in Massachusetts, can register for a free eCard through the Boston Public Library. This eCard gives you access to the Boston Public Library's online resources, including e-books and audiobooks through OverDrive, Libby, and Hoopla.
Worcester Public Library / ARC Card
As a Holy Cross student, you can receive an ARC (Academic and Research Collaborative) library card that allows you to use a number of different libraries in and around Worcester, including the Worcester Public Library. Visit the Dinand Library circulation desk to get your ARC card. This card gives you access to print resources and online resources like Libby and OverDrive for e-books and audiobooks.
March 2025: Home Fire
Library Borrowing Options
Holy Cross Libraries
If you would like to get Home Fire through Holy Cross Libraries, there are two options: Through our collection and through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). We have one print copy of the book. For additional print copies, we recommend using ILL or some of the other options on this page.
Home Fire by Call Number: PR9540.9.S485 H66 2017ISBN: 9780735217683Publication Date: 2017-08-15From an internationally acclaimed novelist, the suspenseful and heartbreaking story of a family ripped apart by secrets and driven to pit love against loyalty, with devastating consequences.
Interlibrary Loan
Follow the link below to your Interlibrary Loan account. If it is your first time using ILL, you will need to complete your account details. After that, look in the menu on the left side of the home screen for where it says "ILL Request." Click on "Book." You will see a form to enter in the book details. Enter the following details in the appropriate fields (rows that are highlighted are required/recommended for easier processing of your request):
| Authors/Editors | Kamila Shamsie |
| Title | Home Fire |
| Publisher | Riverhead Books |
| Place of Publication | New York |
| Date of Publication | 2017 |
| Edition | |
| ISBN (International Standard Book Number) | 9780735217683 |
You will also need to choose a pick up location. This is a required field with a dropdown menu. Select "Pick-up in Dinand." Other fields can be left blank. Once you have filled out the form, click Submit Request. You will receive an email when the book is ready for you to pick up.
- Interlibrary Loan AccountFollow this link to your Interlibrary Loan account.
Boston Public Library eCard
All Massachusetts residents, including people who attend school in Massachusetts, can register for a free eCard through the Boston Public Library. This eCard gives you access to the Boston Public Library's online resources, including e-books and audiobooks through OverDrive, Libby, and Hoopla.
Worcester Public Library / ARC Card
As a Holy Cross student, you can receive an ARC (Academic and Research Collaborative) library card that allows you to use a number of different libraries in and around Worcester, including the Worcester Public Library. Visit the Dinand Library circulation desk to get your ARC card. This card gives you access to print resources and online resources like Libby and OverDrive for e-books and audiobooks.
About Antigone
Antigone
Home Fire is a contemporary adaptation of the play Antigone by the Greek playwright Sophocles. Antigone was originally performed in or around 442 BCE and is considered one of the classic Greek tragedies. It follows the events after the Theban War and centers on the character Antigone, daughter of Oedipus and Iocasta. The play explores themes of obedience to the gods and to one's country, fate and free will, and power (among others!).
If you want to explore the source material, there are many translations available through the library in print and electronic format. You can also find copies in the original Greek! The list below includes some editions of the text. Antigone and other works by (and about) Sophocles can be found in the call number range PA 4413 - PA 4434. Antigone specifically has the call number PA 4414.A7.
The Antigone of Sophocles; an English version by Call Number: PA4414 .A7 1939Publication Date: 1939English translation
Sophocles - Antigone by Call Number: PA4414.A72 B76 1987ISBN: 0856682667Publication Date: 1987-02-01Translated edition with side by side of the original Greek and the English translation.
Bilingual Selections from Sophocles' Antigone by Call Number: PA4414.A72 O2 1977ISBN: 0809308266Publication Date: 1977-09-01Selections of the Greek text with English translations.
National Theatre Production
Holy Cross Libraries subscribe to the National Theatre Collection, providing access to recordings of National Theatre broadcasts and stage performances. You can access a recording of the 2020 National Theatre production of Antigone, starring Jodie Whittaker, written by Don Taylor, and directed by Polly Findlay. Follow the link below to view.
- Antigone (NT) / Sophocles, adapted by Don TaylorAt the bottom of the database record, click on the link for "Online Access."
- National Theatre Collection 1 & 2 (Drama Online) This link opens in a new windowBrowse the full National Theatre collection here.
References
Merchant, D. M. (2022). Antigone by Sophocles. Salem Press Encyclopedia of Literature. Permalink
Brown, A. (2016, March 07). Antigone (1). Oxford Classical Dictionary. https://doi.org/10.1093/acrefore/9780199381135.013.487