Where to search
The Holy Cross Libraries provide access to many databases and journals that you can use to explore topics and search for information on your specific topic. The place you decide to search depends on what types of resources you are looking for. Use a variety of searches for the best results.
Librarian
CrossSearch
Visit the Libraries' homepage to try our discovery tool, CrossSearch.
CrossSearch provides a single starting point for your research by collecting most of our research resources -- the catalog, research databases, open-access journals and more -- behind a single search box. Once you have begun to search CrossSearch, you can fine tune your results to focus on specific types of resources, publication dates, subject areas, and more.
Databases - General
What is a "general" database?
"General" databases are databases that hold information about many subjects in one place.
When should I use a general database?
General databases are best to use when:
- You're not sure of your specific topic, and/or are just starting your research, and you want to explore a little;
- Your topic is interdisciplinary (that is, it doesn't fit neatly into a specific subject area like "religion" or "science");
- You're hoping to find information written from the perspective of a variety of different subject areas (for example, if you'd like to get perspectives from educators, psychologists and social workers all in one place).
Databases - Subject/Discipline Specific
What are "subject-specific" databases?
These are usually smaller and more specialized databases that focus on a single academic discipline or a group of related disciplines. Check out these lists of "subject-specific" databases:
- Current Digest of the Chinese Press This link opens in a new window
Date(s): 2011-2022
Selections from Chinese news sources, translated into English. - ProQuest Asian Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, magazines, and news pertaining to Asian business and finance. **This tool contains both Asian and European data. Be sure to select the 'Asian Business Database content only' box.
Searching for Books (Use the Catalog!)
Search the library catalog for books using keywords relating to your topics. Try to think of very "big picture" search terms to start.
Record the call numbers of any books that look promising.
Whenever you look at a book in the library catalog, you will see a list of subjects. You can think of these as 'tags' used to identify what the book is about. You will also see subjects used in this way in our research database.
Do you see any subjects that might help lead you to other sources? Try clicking on a subject to bring up a list of all the books tagged with that keyword. You never know what you might find!
For example, if you were reading about Japanese immigrants in Brazil, some subjects that you might see would be;
Books at Dinand Library are arranged by Library of Congress Call Number. Call Numbers are used to find books in the library. Each book is assigned a call number made up of letters and numbers, which acts like an address and tells you what shelves to look on.
- Reference Books are in the Main Reading Room. These books must stay in the library.
- Books whose numbers begin with letters A through G are on the Mezzanine level (1 floor down from the Main Reading Room).
- Books whose numbers begin with letters H through Z are mostly on the Ground (bottom) level.
- Books whose numbers begin with M are in the Music Library in Brooks Hall.
- Books whose numbers begin with Q, R, S or T are in the Science Library in Swords Hall.
See the handout attached below to learn more about how the library is organized, and where you should begin looking for books.
You can also watch this video 
to learn more about how call numbers work.