Skip to Main Content
     

HIST 401: Violence & the British Empire (Conley): Citations & Zotero

Spring 2024

Citation Software: Zotero

Need more help? 

Consult this useful guide from Dublin City University (accompanying the above video): 

Zotero Tools: 

There are two "pieces" to Zotero that you can install: the Connector (a browser extension which can be installed in your version of Chrome, Microsoft Edge, Firefox or Safari), and the Desktop Program. To effectively utilize Zotero, you will want both, and especially the Desktop Program! 

with web connector

  • Export PDFs, web pages, and library catalog records to your Zotero library from your browser (you must be on the PDF, not the description page in CrossSearch etc.) web connector only
  • Add articles to your Zotero library by "identifier" (i.e., look them up by DOI). 
  • Manually add records to your Zotero library. 
  • Add notes and attachments to citations in your library
  • Generate in-text citations/footnotes and bibliographies 
  • Create notes files
  • Create and share group libraries 
  • Organize your Zotero library in folders and collections

with desktop program

All of the above (except as marked), plus....

  • Drag and drop a PDF into your library; Zotero will identify it automatically 
  • Import RIS files from databases (and select other sources, such as Google Scholar)

(More) Zotero Resources:

Questions? 

Feel free to contact Jennifer, OR our campus Zotero expert: 

Richard Lent, PhD 
Educational Technology Specialist 
rlent@holycross.edu 

Chicago Citation Help

Below are some common examples to get you started using the Notes-Bibliography Chicago style. Most students at Holy Cross will be using this version of Chicago style. If you are unsure, check with your professor. Note that Notes-Bibliography is the version of Chicago style which is done using footnotes. 

Need more help? Use the resources listed in the Chicago Citation Help box below. 

Book with a single author

Footnote: Wally Carew, A Farewell to Glory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross (Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003), 10. 

Bibliography: Carew, Wally. A Farewell to Glory: The Rise an Fall of an Epic Football Rivalry: Boston College vs. Holy Cross. Worcester, MA: Ambassador Books, 2003. 

Journal article from an online database

Footnote: James G. Hersberg, "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3 (2003): 24.

Bibliography: Hershberg, James G. "The War in Afghanistan and the Iran-Contra Affair: Missing Links?" Cold War History 3, no. 3(2003): 23-48.

Newspaper article from an online database

Footnote: "The Titanic Disaster," The London Times, Apr 16, 1912, p. 9, London Times Digital Archive.

Bibliography: "The Titanic Disaster." The London Times, Apr 16, 1912. London Times Digital Archive.