MONT 153N: Nature of Concepts (Anggoro)

Choosing Keywords

Keywords are terms we use when searching for information. Searching in a library database is a little different from how you might be used to searching in a search engine like Google. In a search engine, you can type in entire phrases or questions and the algorithm will be able to parse through that to return the results you want. In a database or library search, you need to be more precise. By choosing your keywords strategically, you can maximize your search to make sure you're getting the information you want.

1. To identify keywords, start with your research topic or question. What are the important words or phrases in your question that sum up your topic? Write those words down. 
2. Next, look at your list and try to come up with 2-3 synonyms or other ways of referring to each concept. How do authors and researchers in the field refer to your topic? 
3. Think about how to narrow down your search by adding clarifying words or making your terms more specific. Are you looking for information about a specific location or population? Are there more specific ways to refer to your topic?

Keyword Chart

The charts below give an example of how to develop a list of keywords and have an option for you to fill one out yourself. Keep in mind that you don't need to fill out every piece of this chart - it is meant to get you thinking about your topic and how to look for relevant sources.

Subject Terms

Databases will use terms called subject terms to label or "tag" the main topics in an article or publication. Subject terms are part of a vocabulary unique to the database or publisher and are used to put everything related to one topic under a consistent label to make it easier to find with a search. Knowing the relevant subject terms for your topic can help streamline your search by essentially helping you speak the database's language.

When you search in a database, look for the subject terms listed in the results. They will be listed in the details of an article. In many databases, you can also filter by subject. Look at the subject terms that come up and see which ones are relevant to your topic. In your next search, try using one of those terms.

About Advanced Search

Library databases support advanced search strategies that help you combine search terms and be specific about what you're looking for. In most databases, you will see a link for "Advanced Search" from the home page. Databases often have a help page or description of how to use advanced searching. The strategies listed below can help you search in any library database and you can always contact a librarian for help with searching.

Boolean Operators: And, Or, and Not

You can use the words AND, OR, and NOT to combine your search terms for precise searching. These are called Boolean operators and each one has a different purpose.

• Use AND to combine your search terms. Each search result with include all of the terms. This can help narrow your results.
• Use OR to find results that contain at least one of your search terms. This can help you broaden your results, and can be good to use with synonyms that you identified when you brainstormed your keywords.
• Use NOT to exclude terms from your results. This can help you narrow your topic by removing a term that you are not interested in finding sources about.

In CrossSearch and other similar databases, the Advanced Search page has dropdown menus with Boolean operators to help you combine your search terms. You can also type the words directly into the search box. 

Let's break down how AND, OR, and NOT are used in this example. In the second search box, notice that the word OR is typed into the box for children or adolescents. This will tell the database to find results that include either term. This is helpful because some sources might use the word children and others might use adolescents, but the words are similar enough that I want to see results about either one. 

To the left of children or adolescents, you can see the word AND in the dropdown menu. This means the database will find results that have both mental health AND either children or adolescents. If a source does not have mental health in any of its key fields, CrossSearch will not include it in my results. 

Lastly, the bottom search box has the word NOT selected from the dropdown menu. This means if any results have the term education, the search will not show them, even if they have the other search terms.