About DatabasesA database is a collection of information that is arranged and tagged for easy searching and retrieval. Think of a database like an online storage container: It stores different publications, journals, books, magazines, and newspapers and makes it possible for you to access them. The library subscribes to over 300 databases that are available for Holy Cross students to use. Visit our A-Z Databases list to see what is available.
Subject databases include journals and publications from a specific academic field. They may include a number of different publications, but they are all within the same academic area. These can be helpful if you want to look at one specific subject or field.
To find subject databases, go to the A-Z Database List. In the dropdown menu labeled "Subjects," select your subject area and click "Search." You will see a list of databases in that subject, with some highlighted as "Best Bets." Some Literature databases are listed below.
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
Journal articles, books and dissertations focusing on literature and literary criticism, language, and publishing.
Journal articles, literary magazines, essays, biographies, and other sources focused on authors and literary movements.
General databases include information and journals that cover many subjects and academic fields. These can be a good place to start if you’re not sure what subject your topic falls under, if your topic is interdisciplinary and falls under multiple subject areas, if you want to see perspectives from different fields about your topic, or if you simply want to find general information.
To find general databases, go to the A-Z Database List. In the dropdown menu labeled "Subjects," select "_General" and click "Search." You will see a list of general databases, with some highlighted as "Best Bets." Some general databases are listed below.
Journal articles, magazines, and news in almost every subject area.
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
Journal articles, magazines, and news in almost every subject area.
CrossSearch (also known as EBSCO Discovery Service) is a one-stop search tool that lets you search most of the resources available through the library, including:
You can access CrossSearch from the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library).
Use CrossSearch to find journal articles, books in the library's collection, ebooks, newspaper articles, and more.
Use the Library Catalog to find print books, print journals, and ebooks in the library's collection. Access the Library Catalog search through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library). Above the search bar, select "Library Catalog." To use more advanced searching options, click on the "My Library Account" link below the search bar to go directly to the catalog, where you can search by keyword, title, subject, or call number.
Books on the shelves are organized by call number. A call number is an address for a book that tells you where the book is located on the shelf. Call numbers identify different subject areas, so books with similar call numbers will cover similar subjects. This way, when you find a book on the shelf, you know the books around it are on similar topics.
Materials related to Language and Literature are assigned call numbers that start with the letter P. Most call numbers then have a second letter to give a more specific subject. P call numbers are located on the ground floor of Dinand Library, in the center and east wing stacks.
| P -- Linguistics | PQ -- French literature, Italian literature, Spanish literature, Portuguese literature |
| PA -- Greek & Latin language and literature | PR -- English literature |
| PB-PM -- Languages of specific regions | PS -- American literature |
| PN -- Literature (General) | PT -- Germanic literature |