MONT 155N: The Rise of Modern Food (Staysniak)

Newspaper and Magazine Databases

The Library subscribes to over 300 databases to give you access to a variety of resources. Many of these databases include newspapers and magazines, from historical publications to current publications. To see a list of newspaper and magazine databases, visit the A-Z Database List. Click on the "Types" dropdown menu and select "Newspapers & Magazines," then click search. The list will filter to show all newspaper and magazine databases, with descriptions of their content and the time period they cover.

These vary from databases that include single publications (such as the Worcester Telegram & Gazette Current, which includes articles published in the Worcester T&G from 1989-present) and collections of multiple publications (such as U.S. Newsstream, which includes current and historic articles from a number of national newspapers).

You can also select a database from the dropdown menu below.

News Subscriptions

Holy Cross students, faculty, and staff are provided with subscriptions to some news sources outside of library databases. These subscriptions allow you to create an account and access the regular site for that publication instead of going through a library database.

Search for Articles

Do you have a topic you're interested in but you aren't sure which publication has covered it? You can use CrossSearch to look across the library collections to find resources. CrossSearch is the overall search tool for the library. It is the big purple search box on the library home page and will search across different databases and publications the library has access to. 

Access CrossSearch from the library home page: https://www.holycross.edu/support-and-resources/holy-cross-libraries

Enter your search term(s) and click search. You will see results from a variety of publications. To find only news sources, use the filters on the left side of the results page. Click on "More Filters" to reveal all of your options. Under "Resource Type," select News and/or Magazines to see only results that were published in news or magazine sources. You can also use the date filter to adjust the time frame you want to see results from. If you are looking for recent publications, try adjusting the date to the last year or two years.

Did you find an article, book chapter, or book that you want to read, but Holy Cross doesn't have access to it? Use Interlibrary Loan to request any materials not owned by Holy Cross and the Library will try to get what you need.

If you find an article in a Library database, use the purple "Check For Full Text" button to start an Interlibrary Loan request. You can also log in to your Interlibrary Loan account (linked below) to enter a request for the item you need. That account is also where you can view the status of your request, request renewals, and download your electronic materials. Articles and book chapters are typically delivered electronically. Print books will be delivered to the campus library of your choice. You will get an email when your item is ready.

Plan ahead: Interlibrary Loan can take time to process. Journal articles are usually available in less than a week, and print books may take longer if they are shipping from far away.