Skip to Main Content
     

MONT 199C-S15: Principles of Higher Education / College Student Well-Being (Caola)

Fall 2023 / Spring 2024

Where to Search

Subject databases include journals and publications from a specific academic field. They may include a number of different publications, but they are all within the same academic area. These can be helpful if you want to look at one specific subject or field.

Generally, these databases will include academic journal articles, but you should always double check your source to make sure it is a peer-reviewed scholarly source. Some databases also include newspapers, magazines, and other popular sources.

Education Databases:

General databases include information and journals that cover many subjects and academic fields. These can be a good place to start if you’re not sure what subject your topic falls under, if your topic is interdisciplinary and falls under multiple subject areas, if you want to see perspectives from different fields about your topic, or if you simply want to find general information.

To find general databases, go to the A-Z Database List. In the dropdown menu labeled "All Subjects," select "*General*." You will see a list of general databases, with some highlighted as "Best Bets."

General Databases:

CrossSearch (also known as EBSCO Discovery Service) is a one-stop search tool that enables users to simultaneously search most of the informational resources available through the library, including:

  • Books, ebooks, archival materials, media and music scores owned by the Holy Cross Libraries.
  • Research databases like Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, ARTstor and ProQuest Central.
  • E-journal collections like JSTOR and ScienceDirect.
  • The Holy Cross digital repository CrossWorks.
  • Open Access collections such as HaithiTrust Digital Library

As you can see, CrossSearch looks in many different places and for many different types of sources. In one search, you might see results for academic journal articles, books in the library’s collection, films, newspaper articles, and more. This can be a good place to start if you want to see a broad scope of the resources available on your topic. However, because CrossSearch includes so many types of resources, you might find you need to filter these results more than you would in a more specific database.

CrossSearch is best accessed through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library).

Use the Library Catalog to search for books (including e-books) and print journals related to your topic. The catalog will search for print books and journals that we own in the library in addition to e-books that can be accessed online. The default search will search for keywords, but you can also search by title, author, subject, or call number. Visit our How To...Find Books & Read Call Numbers Guide to learn more about call numbers.

Access the Library Catalog search through the library home page (https://www.holycross.edu/library). Above the search bar, select "Library Catalog" and type in your search term.

Suggested search terms:

  • Education, Higher
  • Universities and colleges
  • College students

You can also browse the stacks (the bookshelves in the library) to find print books. Books related to education will have a call number that starts with the letter L. LA call numbers are for "History of Education." LB call numbers relate to "Theory and Practice of Education." LC call numbers are about "Social Aspects of Education." L call numbers are located in Dinand Library in the Lower Center Stacks on the ground floor.

The Library also provides access to different e-book collections. Choose from the list below to search for e-books related to your topic.

Higher Education News

The Chronicle

The Chronicle of Higher Education is an online news source for the field of higher education. It publishes news, opinions, advice, job postings, and data related to current issues and trends in colleges and universities. Holy Cross provides free access to The Chronicle online. While this is linked in our A-Z Database list, The Chronicle is not technically a database, since it does not include resources from more than one publisher. It is a single news organization focused on the area of higher education. 

Inside Higher Ed

Inside Higher Ed is another news website for higher education. They post news, blogs, and "quick takes" that break down current issues and trends in higher education. Holy Cross does not have a subscription to Inside Higher Ed, so you may find articles are behind a paywall. If you find an article you would like to use but can't access it for free, submit an Interlibrary Loan request and Holy Cross Libraries will look to borrow the article from another library on your behalf. Never pay for an article - always check with the library!

Conversations on Jesuit Higher Education

Conversations is an online magazine published by the National Seminar on Jesuit Higher Education. It includes articles and opinion pieces about current trends in Jesuit education. Keep in mind that many of these articles are opinion pieces or think pieces. Some authors will cite relevant research while others will write about their own experiences and interpretations of a topic. The end of each article usually provides a brief bio of the author and links to their previous publications and institutional affiliations.

Archives and Distinctive Collections

Archives and Distinctive Collections

The Holy Cross Archives collects and preserves records related to the history of the College. This includes administrative records for different offices, college publications including yearbooks, the student newspaper, and the magazine, and other photographs, documents, letters, and ephemera relevant to the College.

The Archives are located on the third floor of Dinand Library. You can see their hours here. If you want to do research in the Archives, it is recommended that you make an appointment so staff can prepare materials relevant to your topic. To make an appointment, email archives@holycross.edu or use the Ask an Archivist page on the website.

Digital Collections

Some archival materials are available digitally, including course catalogs, the student yearbook, student newspapers, personal collections, and institutional research and scholarship. You can browse digital collections online. Keep in mind that due to the nature of archival materials, it is not always possible to make them available digitally. Visiting the archives in person is a great opportunity to see and work with some of those physical materials.

Worcester News

Worcester Telegram & Gazette

The Worcester Telegram & Gazette is Worcester's daily newspaper. It is also known as the Telegram or simply the T&G. Holy Cross provides access to current and historical issues of the Telegram & Gazette through databases that let you browse issues by date or search for specific keywords. You should always access the T&G through the library's links to avoid getting stopped by a paywall on the newspaper's website. Some options for accessing the T&G are listed below. Pay attention to the dates listed, where applicable.

Other News Sources

To see a list of newspaper and magazine databases, visit the A-Z Database List. Click on the "Types" dropdown menu and select "Newspapers & Magazines," then click search. The list will filter to show all newspaper and magazine databases, with descriptions of their content and the time period they cover. Some need to be accessed through the databases while others provide active subscriptions that let you use the newspaper's website directly.