Quick Links
Archives Instruction
Archives & Distinctive Collections (ADC) are delighted to work with you to incorporate archival collections into course instruction. Our sessions are tailored to fit your course learning objectives, aims and content. Sessions typically take place in the Archives Reading Room (Dinand Library 3rd floor) but also may be held in another space in Dinand or in the classroom. We offer:
Active Learning - we design or assist in designing a hands-on primary source activity using materials from our collections based on the desired learning goals and a consultation with the instructor. Active learning can either be a single session or a multi-session instruction tied to a course project. This option may also include an assignment requiring students to make a return visit to the Archives.
Exhibit - we curate an exhibit with one or more items from our collections in consultation with the instructor. Archivists can be on hand to give a short introduction or be a part of the class lecture and/or discussion. This type is also referred to as “show and tell.”
Presentation - we create a presentation on a particular topic such as publishing in CrossWorks and archives in digital humanities.
Due to the fragile nature of our collections, active learning and exhibit sessions must be held in the ADC’s Reading Room or another space in Dinand.
Availability
Instruction sessions are available during ADC standard operating hours, Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. We will also work with you to schedule a session if your class meets outside our operating hours.
The Reading Room can seat 16 people comfortably, but up to 20 people. We can accommodate up to 25 people standing for an exhibit.
Classes exceeding our capacity are typically held in the Levis Browsing Room (Dinand Library basement). We are happy to discuss alternative arrangements such as splitting the class into groups.
Please book your instruction session with at least two weeks advance notice. We recommend booking at the beginning of the semester because all bookings depend on availability of staff and space.
Book a session
Please complete our booking form: https://holycross.libcal.com/r/search?lid=18745#s-lc-public-pt
An archivist will be in touch to either confirm the booking or to further discuss and/or design the desired session. Want to learn more about Archives & Distinctive Collections? Email us via archives@holycross.edu for a tour or visit our website (https://www.holycross.edu/archives-and-special-collections)