Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and Document Delivery
Books:
- InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch this video
for more information and a complete walkthrough.
Finding Books:
A great tool to find books outside of our Libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat is, as the same suggests, a "world catalog" -- it tells you about books owned by libraries all over the world, which you can then have mailed to Holy Cross for free!
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
A world-wide catalog of books, journals, audiovisual materials, and other sources available in libraries worldwide. Includes direct links to request items on Interlibrary Loan.
Requesting Books:
To request a book chapter on Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery, log into the Interlibrary Loan system....
Log-in using your Google username and password.
Once you have logged in, choose "Book" under the ILL menu:
Then, fill out the request form. A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the book, if possible (author(s), book title, date of publication, publisher). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification that your book is ready for pick-up.
Book Chapters:
- InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch this video for more information and a complete walkthrough.
- Document Delivery is a service that allows you to request a scan of materials owned by the Holy Cross Libraries. To find books or journals for Document Delivery, search the catalog as normal. Document Delivery requests follow the same process as Interlibrary Loan requests.
Requesting Book Chapters:
To request a book chapter on Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery, log into the Interlibrary Loan system....
Log-in using your Google username and password.
Once you have logged in, choose "Book Chapter" under the appropriate menu:
Then, fill out the request form. A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the chapter, if possible (chapter and book author, chapter and book title, date of publication, publisher, and, ideally, page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email.
Articles:
- InterLibrary Loan or ILL is a service that allows you to request materials owned by other libraries all over the US. Watch this video for more information and a complete walkthrough.
- Document Delivery is a service that allows you to request a scan of materials owned by the Holy Cross Libraries. To find books or journals for Document Delivery, search the databases, Google Scholar, etc. as normal. Document Delivery requests follow the same process as Interlibrary Loan requests.
Requesting Articles via Database:
If you have found an article you would like to request in the article databases and no electronic access is available, you can use the 
button to request an article on Interlibrary Loan or Document Delivery.
Click the button. When the pop-up box opens, choose
Log-in using your Google username and password.
You should be brought automatically to the Article Request form. The database will fill out most information for you. Check to make sure the information entered is accurate (to help us find your article sooner!). A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the chapter, if possible (author, article and journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email.
Requesting Other Articles:
If you have found an article you would like to request by means other than the article databases, log into the Interlibrary Loan system....
Log-in using your Google username and password.
Once you have logged in, choose "Article" under the appropriate menu:
Then, fill out the request form. A good rule of thumb is to include at least the information you would need to cite the article (author, article and journal title, volume, issue, and page numbers). The more information you include, the more easily and quickly our staff will be able to place your request.
Once your request has been fulfilled, you will receive a notification and link to your Holy Cross email.
Article Citations
Being able to follow a citation is crucial for research! If you have a citation, you can use those skills to track down the full-text of the article directly using the E-Journals search.
All of the information that you need to track down an article is located in its citation -- like this one below! Note that the | is not part of the citation -- these symbols mark where each component of the citation begins and ends.
| Aston, Margaret. |"Cross and Crucifix in the English Reformation.| |
|
Author Title of Article |
|
Historische Zeitschrift Beihefte | 33 | (2002):| 253-272. | |
|
Title of Journal Vol * Date Pages |
|
https://www.jstor.org/stable/20524191. |
|
DOI, stable URL or database |
* This article has no issue number, which would normally follow the volume number
Instructions for using the E-Journals search to find articles