Skip to Main Content
     

Dr. Mark D. Nevins '86 Collection for the Study of Comics and Graphic Novels

Guide to the Nevins Collection, circulation policies, and the study of comics and graphic novels.

About the Collection

About the Nevins Collection 

The Nevins Collection for the Study of Comics and Graphic Novels was established in 2018 with a generous donation of 1,000+ comics and graphic novels by Dr. Mark D. Nevins '86, a Holy Cross graduate and Fenwick Scholar.  In the years since, the collection has continued to grow with Dr. Nevins' support, now consisting of over 4,000 titles. 

While most titles in the Nevins Collection are in English, many of these represent important translations that offer cultural perspectives, and numerous others remain in their original languages.  The books are biographical, historical, literary, scientific, sociological, and artistic, and often offer opportunities to explore themes of diversity and inclusion. They are a popular resource for extracurricular reading, in addition to supporting faculty and student research and teaching, including several courses devoted to the study of graphic novels. 

The Nevins Collection lives in a dedicated space on the ground floor of Dinand Library in the Visual Arts Wing. The Nevins Room may be accessed... 

  • From the main library entrance: Turn left at the top of the stairs just before the Circulation Desk 
  • From the side (Hogan) entrance: Make a hard-right U-turn upon entering the library 

Using the Collection

Circulation Policies 

All members of the Holy Cross community (students, faculty, and staff) may borrow books from the general Nevins Collection and Nevins Collection Oversize for 28 days (regardless of their normal borrowing privileges). Nevins books may be renewed one time for an additional 28 days.  

Books with location Dinand Nevins Collection Reference cannot be borrowed and are for in-library use only, similarly to books in the general reference collection. 

Alumni and other visitors are welcome to use the Nevins Collection while visiting Dinand Library, or to submit an Interlibrary Loan request through their 'home' library or institution. 
 

Browse or Search Titles

All books in the Nevins Collection have a call number beginning with NEVINS and are listed under location "Dinand Library - Nevins Collection" in the Library Catalog and CrossSearch. Nevins books also are listed with the subject heading, "The Dr. Mark D. Nevins '86 Collection for the Study of Comics and Graphic Novels." 

Additional Resources for the Study of Comics and Graphic Novels