Historiography & Historians
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing by Call Number: Dinand Reference D14 +E53 1999Publication Date: 1999
Atlases
Browse the G1000-G3122 call number range on the mezzanine level of Dinand when looking for an atlas. Most atlases, including both historial atlases and current atlases, are located in this range.
Recommended Reference Sources for History
Encyclopedias and other types of reference books can be a great place to start your research. These works will often provide important background information and provide an overview of individuals' names, place names, and terminology related to your topic. The encyclopedia entries will also often include helpful bibliographies with recommended sources for more information on a topic.
The list below lists examples of reference books covering the history of different parts of the world and different time periods. However, the list is far from comprehensive. Try browsing the relevant call number ranges of the reference collection in the Main Reading Room of Dinand to find additional reference materials.
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature by Call Number: [E-Book]Publication Date: 1995Also in print in Dinand Reference, call number D1 .A51 1995.
African American National Biography by Call Number: Dinand Reference E185.96 .A4466 2008ISBN: 9780195160192Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual HistoryCall Number: [E-Book]Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust by Call Number: Dinand Reference D804.3 .E53 1990Publication Date: 2000
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust by Call Number: Dinand Reference DS135.E8 +E45 2001Publication Date: 2001
The Cambridge History of Latin America by Call Number: Dinand Reference F1410 .C1834 1984Publication Date: 1984
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: Dinand Reference F1406 .E53 1996Publication Date: 1995
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by Call Number: [E-Book]Publication Date: 2001Additional copy available in Dinand Reference [CB351 +D5413 2000].
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World by Call Number: Dinand Reference D205 +O94 2008Publication Date: 2008
The Encyclopedia of World War I by Call Number: Dinand Reference D510 +E53 2005Publication Date: 2005
The Harvard Guide to African-American HistoryCall Number: Dinand Reference E185 .H326 2001Publication Date: 2001
Mexico: an encyclopedia of contemporary culture and history by Call Number: Dinand Reference F1234 .C64 2004Publication Date: 2004
A Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples by Call Number: E76.2 .P75 1998Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by Call Number: Dinand Reference HC15 +O94 2003Publication Date: 2003
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Call Number: Dinand Reference E184.S75 +O97 2005Publication Date: 2005
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by Call Number: Dinand Reference F1219 +O95 2001Publication Date: 2000
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History by Call Number: Dinand Reference HQ1121 +O93 2008Publication Date: 2008
A Reference Guide to Latin American History by Call Number: Dinand Reference F1410 +R395 2000Publication Date: 2000
