In addition to searching the research databases listed here, you may also want to try searching in specific subject specific journals. Search Holy Cross' EJournal list here.
The Annual Review of Sociology provides reviews of the literature that has been published on different topics in sociology. If you find an Annual Review article related to your research, it can be a great starting point because it will provide an overview of the literature and a bibliography of sources.
If you are in search of articles that cover specific topics, a database is a great place to start! The following examples may be helpful to you, and you can view all our other databases here.
Journal articles, and citations for books, conference proceedings, and other resources, in the field of sociology.
Academic and professional journal articles, dissertations, magazines, and news dealing with a variety of social science fields.
Government documents, reports, court cases, and other primary sources relating to the history of civil rights in the U.S., accompanied by journal articles and books.
Date(s): 1490-2008
Primary sources created by and about enslaved individuals and abolition movements.
Journal articles published by the American Anthropologial Association (AAA).
Downloadable data files, documentations, and data-based research related to a wide range of social science areas. Guide to Searching ICPSR
Visualization, reporting and downloads of U.S. Census Data.
Journal articles and books published by Elsevier, covering the natural and social sciences.
Journal articles in almost every subject area, including some historical articles back to the 17th century.
Do you have an article citation, but need to find the full-text article? Three Steps to Finding the Full Text Article:
1. Check the EJournals List by searching for the name of the Journal name (not the article title) in the "Find" box. If the journal comes up in your results, look at the years of coverage to make sure that the library has the year you are looking for. If yes, click on the link for the journal and then scroll to the volume you need or search within the journal for the article.
2. If you aren't able to find the journal in the Electronic Journal list, check CrossSearch to find the journal in print by searching for the name of the journal (not the article title). If the journal comes up in your results, look at the years of coverage to make sure that the library has the year you are looking for. If yes, copy down the call number so that you'll be able to locate the journal in the stacks.
3. If you can't get the article in print or online, order the article through InterLibrary Loan.